Devon Smith dropped from West Indies tour of India

Devon Smith dropped from West Indies tour of India

West Indies tour of India 2018, Two Test Match Series

West Indies Cricket (WC) selectors have named their 15-member squad for the upcoming two match Test series against India which are to be played in Rajkot and Hyderabad in the month of October this year. As part of this month-long tour, Windies will play two Test matches followed by 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is in the months of October and November.

West Indies dropped Devon Smith from their Test squad while naming Sunil Ambris as his replacement who is returning from an injury. Devon Smith was picked for their previous two Test series at home against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh owing to his tremendous first class record at home. However, he scored only two half centuries in nine innings upon his comeback which were not enough to retain his place in the squad.

West Indies had squared the three match Test series 1-1 against Sri Lanka while comprehensively won the two match Test series by a margin of 2-0 against Bangladesh. Both the Test matches between West Indies and Bangladesh were finished under three days.

“The panel congratulates Jason Holder and his team on the excellent performance against Bangladesh. As the team embarks on a tough tour of India the successes against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh should hold them in good stead during the India series,” said Courtney Browne, Chairman of selectors for West Indies.

Sunil Ambris and Alzarri Joseph are the notable inclusions in the squad while Devon Smith and Miguel Cummins misses out. Ambris played his last Test match in December last year while Alzarri Joseph is not considered since West Indies tour of England in August last year.

“The panel welcomes back Sunil Ambris who missed the last couple of series due to injury, along with Jomel Warrican who adds a second spin bowling option to the attack,” he added.

On a lighter note, the two match series is going to be a one-sided affair heavily favoring India. The two Test matches are being scheduled to play at two spin friendly venues and the visitors as always are lacking the quality spin bowlers in their line-up! India are yet to announce their squad for this two match Test series.

West Indies squad for the Test Series: Jason Holder (c), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican

Test Series Schedule:

Test #1: Oct 04 – 08, India vs West Indies, Venue: Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
Test #2: Oct 12 – 16, India vs West Indies, Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

** Photo credits to Hindustan Times

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *