T20I Australia v England

T20I Australia v England

T20I Australia v England

Blunderstone Arena, Wednesday 7th February


Match Preview

Australia will be looking for redemption after a poor showing against England in the ODI series. England monstered Australia with an attacking brand of cricket from ball one. Eoin Morgan and his men will be looking to continue their recent white-ball dominance. England warmed up for the series with a comprehensive win over the Prime Ministers XI in Canberra.

Australia looked promising in the opening game against the Blackcaps. A change of personnel has brought about a change in fortune. Chris Lynn showed that he can be a force at international level. Lynn smacked a brutal 41 against a high-quality NZ attack. D’Arcy Short will be wanting to improve on his debut after falling for 4 runs off six balls.

Australia will carry plenty of confidence into what is sure to be a tight clash.

England made a sent out a strong signal to Australia in their warm-up match. Aussie Test spinner Nathan Lyon was hammered for 34 runs of a single over. Expect England to come out all guns blazing. England won’t be able to call upon Joe Root or Ben Stokes, but they still possess some stroke-makers. Jason Roy smashed 180 against the Aussies in the opening ODI and Jos Buttler can clear the rope at the top of the order.

Australia have momentum and some fresh faces in their side. Ricky Ponting has come into the coaching line-up along with some BBL stars in the playing group. D’Arcy Short will be looking to have an impact at the top of the order. The BBL player of the year has the talent to be the next David Warner. Billy Stanlake will be looking to build on his debut. The big quick captured three wickets in his opening game and was regularly clocked at 150km/hr.

Australia looks determined to turnaround their poor ranking in T20I cricket. The Aussies have the firepower to grab a close win in Hobart.


Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.

PM’s XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3.

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7.

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10.

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21



The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *