Sri Lanka beat South Africa in the one-off T20I

South Africa tour of Sri Lanka 2018, Only T20I, Sri Lanka vs South Africa – Sri Lanka won by 3 wickets

Tuesday, August 14, 2018, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Match Wrap:

It was another dull performance with the bat by the South Africans against Sri Lankan spin attack. They were never really in the game in this one-off T20I and who ever walks to the crease was in the same mindset – ‘thrash every spinner out of the ground’. But their approach failed which made them register their lowest ever T20I total, bowled out for just 98 runs in 16.4 overs.

Sri Lanka too were not looked confident enough during the chase. They lost seven wickets to get to this target and it was a narrow escape for them in the end. The target was just a little one but the home team made it look like a huge mountain which they cannot climb! However, Dinesh Chandimal held one end tight with an unbeaten 31* to take Sri Lanka to victory with 4 overs to spare and 3 wickets in hand.

Dananjaya de Silva picked up 2 wickets in his 4 overs and scored crucial 31 runs during the chase. With this all-round performance, he was awarded as the ‘Player of the Match’.

Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews was complaining about their dust bowls pitches and spinners when they lost the third ODI match to South Africa. However, I don’t think he is going to do that now as the same dust bowls and spinner won them three limited-overs games in a row.

With this one-off T20I, the South Africa tour of Sri Lanka 2018 comes to an end. Sri Lanka won the two match Test series by 2-0 while South Africa won the five match ODI series by 3-2. And Sri Lanka finished on a high wining the one-off T20I.

Match Summary:

Sri Lanka – 99/7 in 16 overs (Dinesh Chandimal – 36*, Dananjaya de Silva – 31, Junior Dala – 2/22, Kagiso Rabada – 2/24) beat South Africa – 98 all out in 16.4 overs (Quinton de Kock – 20, Reeza Hendricks – 19, Lakshan Sandakan – 3/19, Akila Dananjaya – 2/15) by 3 wickets

Player of the Match:

Dananjaya de Silva (SL) – 31 runs and 2 wickets


Sri Lanka:

Playing XI: Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews (c), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Isuru Udana

Bench:Upul Tharanga, Shehan Jayasuriya, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando

South Africa:

Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Jean-Paul Duminy (c), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Junior Dala, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bench:Aiden Markram, Willem Mulder, Keshav Maharaj

One-off T20I Series Schedule:

T20I #1: July 14, Sri Lanka vs South Africa, Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

** Image credits to ESPN Cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *