Australia Claim T20I Clean Sweep

Australia Claim T20I Clean Sweep

Australia Claim T20I Clean Sweep


Match Wrap

Australia wrapped up a place in the Tri-Series Final with victory over England at the MCG. England were without Captain Eoin Morgan through injury. Morgan has a side injury and is now in some doubt to continue in rest of the Tri-Series.

Australian Captain David Warner won the toss and was immediately rewarded on the two-paced MCG wicket. Alex Hales was the first to depart as Aaron Finch took a brilliant running catch over his should off the bowling of Billy Stanklake.

Jason Roy fell in the next over, caught behind off the bowling of Richardson. Dawid Malan was run-out by a freakish bit of fielding by David Warner at mid-on and England never recovered.

James Vince was deceived by an Andrew Tye slower ball.

Stand-in skipper Jos Buttler was caught off the final ball of the innings to leave England with a total of 7-137.

Despite losing David Warner in the opening over, Australia got off to a flyer. D’Arcy Short smashed 36 off 33 balls. Chris Lynn came in at the fall of Warner’s wicket and powered Australia to victory. Lynn hit 31 off 19 balls, including two sixes.

Glenn Maxwell continued his good form to top score for the Aussies with 39 from 26 balls. Aaron Finch came in down the order and clubbed two sixes to give Australia victory in the 15th over.

Australia’s lesser likes have turned around their fortunes in the shortest form of the game.

The series now heads across the Tasman to New Zealand. England will play New Zealand this Wednesday, with a follow-up game against Australia on Friday.


Match Summary

England 7-137 (Buttler 46, Richardson 3-33) lost to Australia 3-138 (Maxwell 39, Short 36*, Lynn 31) by seven wicket with 33 balls to spare


Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler. 


Trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia Claim T20I Clean Sweep 


First T20I Australia won by seven wickets. 

Second T20I Australia won by five wickets. 

Third T20I Australia won by seven wickets. 

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21


The following two tabs change content below.

Dan Gardner

Latest posts by Dan Gardner (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *