Trinbago beat Tridents to ensure a top two finish

Trinbago beat Tridents to ensure a top two finish

Caribbean Premier League 2018, 28th Match, Trinbago Knight Riders vs Barbados Tridents – Trinbago Knight Riders won by 9 runs

Saturday, September 08, 2018, Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad

Match Wrap:

Trinbago Knight Riders held their nerve against Barbados Tridents to register their seventh win in the ongoing season. Put into bat first, Trinbago got to a good start with Chris Lynn scoring 29 runs off just 10 deliveries. With handy contributions from Denesh Ramdin (51 off 31) and Dwayne Bravo (33 off 20) down the order, they got to a massive total – 180 for 5 in 20 overs.

Chasing 181 to win, Barbados Tridents got too close to the target with each of their batsmen stepping up to the cause. Each of their batsmen scored with a strike rate of at least 100.00. Nicholas Pooran was their top scorer with 2 fours and 4 sixes.

Trinbago’s spinner Fawad Ahmed accounted for the Barbados top three wickets. He cleaned up both the openers while dismissed Shai Hope as stump out. With bowling figures of 3 for 28 in 4 overs, Fawad Ahmed bagged ‘Player of the Match’ award.

With this victory, Trinbago Knight Riders consolidated their position at the top of the CPL 2018 points table with 14 points. Guyana Amazon Warriors, at the moment, has the only chance to dethrone Trinbago from the top in this season.

Barbados Tridents, with this close defeat, ended their campaign in this season in a pretty heart breaking fashion. In the 10 games they played in this season, they have won just 2 games and lost the other 8 games. Their two victories in this season have come against Guyana Amazon Warriors and Jamaica Tallawahs.

Match Summary:

Trinbago Knight Riders – 180/5 in 20 overs (Denesh Ramdin – 51, Dwayne Bravo – 33, Imran Khan – 2/25, Chemar Holder – 2/42) beat Barbados Tridents – 171/5 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran – 44, Shai Hope – 26, Fawad Ahmed – 3/28, Ali Khan – 1/39) by 9 runs

Player of the Match:

Fawad Ahmed (TKR) – 3 wickets


Trinbago Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Colin Munro, Chris Lynn, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo (c), Sunil Narine, Terrance Hinds, Fawad Ahmed, Khary Pierre, Ali Khan

Bench:Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper, Nikita Miller, Anderson Phillip, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel

Barbados Tridents:

Playing XI: Sunny Sohal, Shamar Springer, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Tion Webster, Jason Holder (c), Dominic Drakes, Imran Khan, Chemar Holder, Mohammad Irfan

Bench:Dwayne Smith, Hashim Amla, Wahab Riaz, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Martin Guptill

** Photo credits to News Day

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *