Three for Rohit Sharma, Four for Hardik Pandya!

T20 Series cricket match

India beat England in the third and final T20I by 7 wickets to take the three match T20I series in England. A number of records were broken and some others were made in this game. Let us look at some of the statistical highlights from this game:

3 – Indian opener Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten on 100* to take India to a 7-wicket victory against England in the third T20I, his third century in this format. Colin Munro (NZ) is the only other player to make this feat in this format. Also, Rohit became the fifth player after Brendon McCullum (NZ), Martin Guptill (NZ), Shoaib Malik (Pak) and Virat Kohli (Ind) to complete 2000 runs in T20Is.

4 – Number of wickets taken by Hardik Pandya in this match. This is the first time he picked up a four-for in a T20I innings. Also with this innings, Hardik is the first Indian player to score 30-plus runs (33* off 14) and pick up a four wicket haul (4 for 38) in the same T20I match. His previous best with the ball was 3 for 8 against Pakistan in Dhaka in the World T20 2016.

5 – Number of catches taken by India wicket keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni in this game. These are the most catches taken by a player in a single T20I. Remember, Dhoni also affected a run out in the last ball of the match. On seven different occasions, four catches were taken by a wicket keeper in a single T20I.

6 – This T20I series victory against England is India’s sixth consecutive series win in T20Is. Only Pakistan (9 successive series wins) have more consecutive series wins than India. Six successive series wins by India and nine by Pakistan are ongoing records and both the teams have a chance to increase this feat.

199 – The target chased down by India against England in the third T20I. This is the third highest target chased down by them in this format. 207 against Sri Lanka in 2009 and 202 against Australia in 2013 are their top two successful chases in T20I history.

8 – This is the eighth bilateral T20I series win for India in which three matches are played – India are yet to lose a three match bilateral T20I series. India’s eight three-match bilateral T20I series thus far – Australia in 2016, Sri Lanka in 2016, Zimbabwe in 2016, England in 2017, New Zealand in 2017, Sri Lanka in 2017, South Africa in 2018 and England in 2018 – India won all these series.

** Image credits to OrissaPOST

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

1 Comment

  1. imrahan

    July 25, 2018 at 2:09 pm

    Virat Kohli is an Indian international cricketer who currently captains the India national team.he is best player of cricket india team.Virat Kohli is the Captain of Indian Cricket Team. Kohli is regarded as one of the best batsman.Virat Kohli and Anushka Sharma tieing a knot. Wow! A dream come true for them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *