West Indies vs Bangladesh third ODI preview

West Indies vs Bangladesh third ODI preview

Bangladesh tour of West Indies 2018, ODI series, Third ODI Match, West Indies vs Bangladesh

Saturday, July 28, 2018, Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

Match Preview:

West Indies will host Bangladesh in the third and final ODI of the three match series today (July 28) at Warner Park. Play starts at 09:30 am local time (07:00 pm IST). Series is currently level 1 – 1. Bangladesh won the first match of the series with 48 runs while hosts made a great comeback to win the second ODI by a margin of 3 runs.

The winner of this third ODI will take the series and it is a much needed victory as well for either of these two teams. Last bilateral ODI series win for West Indies was in August 2014 which was also against the same opponents, Bangladesh! Previous bilateral ODI series win for Bangladesh was against Afghanistan in September 2016. Both teams will push themselves that extra mile to secure the much needed series victory.

West Indies are a confident batting unit with Shimron Hetmyer is fine form with the bat. And if Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis comes in to form there is no stopping Windies on this small St Kitts ground! Just to worsen things for the hosts, Andre Russell who sat outside from the second ODI has also been ruled out of the third ODI with a knee injury.

On the other hand, Bangladesh will have to forget the heart breaking loss in the second ODI and move forward. Tamim Iqbal, Shakib al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim are in good nick with the bat while Mashrafe Mortaza and Mustafizur Rahman are delivering them with the ball.

With small boundaries coming into picture, team batting first are expected to post a 300 plus total on the board. On the other hand, both teams are expected to replace their out-of-form players going into this pressure game!


West Indies:

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wk), Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder (c), Devendra Bishoo, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph, Ashley Nurse, Jason Mohammed


Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam, Anamul Haque, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Abu Hider Rony

ODI Series Schedule:

ODI #1: July 22, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana
ODI #2: July 25, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana
ODI #3: July 28, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

** Image credits to ESPN Cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *