West Indies Include Andre Russell for Bangladesh ODIs

West Indies include Andre Russell for Bangladesh ODIs

Bangladesh tour of West Indies, Three Match ODI Series

West Indies have announced their 13 men squad for the three match ODI series against Bangladesh. Surprisingly, Andre Russell, who last played for West Indies in November 2015 (against Sri Lanka in RPS, Colombo), has been recalled to their ODI set up.

“This is the start of our preparation for 2019 CWC. Opportunities for players to stake a claim to be included in the squad. Great to have Dre Russ back as well. His explosive power and energy will breathe life into an already motivated squad,” said Stuart Law, Windies head coach.

Adding Andre Russell to their ODI squad is actually rubbing salt to Bangladesh wounds that they sustained during the two-match Test series in the first half of July. The visitors would now do not want a ‘Andre-Russell-thrashing’ in this three match ODI series.

Batsman Kieran Powell and pacer Alzarri Joseph also included in the 13-member ODI squad while some of the key players who played in World Cup Qualifiers in March this year are missing (rested or dropped) from the squad. Kemar Roach was part of West Indies squad for the World Cup Qualifiers, but with a hamstring injury in the first Test match against Bangladesh, he is not considered for this ODI series.

Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels and Kesrick Williams, who had featured in the squad for the World Cup Qualifiers, have all been left out from this three match ODI series against Bangladesh.

“As we continue to prepare, there are only 16 ODIs leading up to the tournament. The panel will focus on giving opportunities from time to time to players that we believe can add value to the ODI team,” said Courtney Browne, chairman of West Indies selection panel.


West Indies:

Jason Holder (c), Devendra Bishoo, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell


Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Abu Jayed

ODI Series Schedule:

One-Day Practice Match: July 19, UWIVC XI vs Bangladesh, Venue: Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica

ODI #1: July 22, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana
ODI #2: July 25, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: ProvidenceStadium, Guyana
ODI #3: July 28, West Indies vs Bangladesh, Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

** Image credits to Zee News

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *