South Africa pick Dale Steyn for Zimbabwe ODIs

South Africa pick Dale Steyn for Zimbabwe ODIs

South Africa have named their squads for the three match ODI and T20I series against Zimbabwe which starts from September 30. Dale Steyn who last featured in the ODI format two years ago has been named in their squad for the three match ODI series while Imran Tahir who was rested for Sri Lanka tour is also making a return to the ODIs.

Faf du Plessis injured himself during the third ODI against Sri Lanka of the five match series and was ruled out of the last two ODIs. He is now recovering and is set to lead South Africa in the three ODIs as well as the three T20Is against Zimbabwe if he recovers completely.

“Faf continues to make a recovery from the shoulder injury he suffered in Sri Lanka. It is a week by week case and a call will be made in due course,” said South Africa’s team doctor.

As part of South Africa’s pooling strategy ahead of the World Cup, they have now rested Quinton de Kock for the ODI series and recalled Khaya Zondo. Kagiso Rabada who will feature in three ODIs against Zimbabwe, has been rested from the three T20Is.

“Another part of our strategy going forward is to identify exciting, young talent such as Matthew Breetzke and assimilate them into the Protea culture at a young age. We have done this successfully in the past with the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Ngidi and Mulder, among others and this is a continuation of that process,” said CSA Selection Panel head.

The three ODIs will be played in Kimberly (Sep 30), Bloemfontein (Oct 03) and Paarl (Oct 06). The three T20Is will be played in East London (Oct 09), Potchefstroom (Oct 12) and Benoni (Oct 14).

ODI squad:Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Khaya Zondo

T20I squad:Faf du Plessis (C), Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Lungisani Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

** Photo credits to Cricket Australia

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *