Root, Morgan Hand England ODI Series Win

Root, Morgan hand England ODI series win

India tour of England 2018, Royal London ODI Series, Third ODI, England vs India – England won by 8 wickets

Tuesday, July 17, 2018, Headingly, Leeds

Match Wrap:

Joe Root (unbeaten on 100*) and captain Eoin Morgan (unbeaten on 88*) lead England to an 8-wicket victory against India in the third and final ODI of the series at Headingly on Tuesday (July 17). With this victory, England have won the three match series by 2 – 1 to register their seventh successive ODI bilateral series win in England.

The century in this ODI is the 13th hundred for Joe Root in this format, which makes him the leading century-maker for England in this format. Marcus Trescothick with 12 ODI centuries was England’s previous best. Root celebrated this milestone by dropping his bat – a MIC DROP gesture, which we often see rock stars doing it.

England bowlers David Willey and Adil Rashid with three wickets each in the first innings set up the game for the hosts. The delivery Rashid bowled to clean up Virat Kohli was amazing and that might have tempted officials to present him the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

Put into bat first, India started off awkwardly with Rohit Sharma consuming 18 balls before he departed, while making just 2 runs. Dhawan batted fluently for his 44 but his lazy running cost him his wicket. Kohli got into the 70s but he got no support from the other end. Another middle order failure followed by Shardul Thakur’s mighty blows at the end helped India finish with 256 for 8 in their 50 overs.

England openers took off well during the chase – Jonny Bairstow scored 30 runs off just 13 deliveries and James Vince, who replaced Jason Roy in this game scored run-a-ball 27. Root and Morgan then took the matter into their own hands to seal the game as well as the series!

Match Summary:

England – 260/2 in 44.3 overs (Joe Root – 100*, Eoin Morgan – 88*, Shardul Thakur – 1/51) beat India – 256/8 in 50 overs (Virat Kohli – 71, Shikhar Dhawan – 44, David Willey – 3/40, Adil Rashid – 3/49) by 8 wickets

Player of the Match:

Adil Rashid (Eng) – 3 wickets for 49 runs in his 10 overs

Player of the Series:

Joe Root (Eng) – 2 centuries



Playing XI: James Vince, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood

Bench: Jason Roy, Jake Ball


Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul, Axar Patel, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

Royal London ODI Series Schedule:

ODI #1:July 12 (Thursday), England vs India, Venue:Trent Bridge, Nottingham
ODI #2: July 14 (Saturday), England vs India, Venue:The Lord’s, London
ODI #3: July 17 (Tuesday), England vs India, Venue:Headingly, Leeds

** Image credits to Firstpost

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *