England vs India Third ODI Preview

England vs India Third ODI Preview

India tour of England 2018, Third ODI, England vs India

Tuesday, July 17, 2018, Headingly, Leeds

Match Preview:

We have arrived at the final match of the limited overs leg of the ongoing India tour of England. The hosts will play India at Headingly in the third and final ODI. Play starts at 12:30 pm local time (05:00 pm IST). The three match ODI series is currently level 1 – 1, India won the first ODI at Trent Bridge while England won the second ODI at Lord’s.

Sanjay Bangar hinted that Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be picked for the third and final ODI if he passes the fitness Test. If he is picked, he will replace the struggling Siddarth Kaul. However, India are expected not to risk Bhuvneshwar Kumar in this do-or-die game even if he is fully fit as the visitors need him more for the five match Test series rather than in this ODI match.

England have released Dawid Malan and Sam Curran, while included James Vince in their ODI squad for the Headingly ODI. Both the players were released to play in an unofficial Test match against India A which started on Monday (July 16). Vince inclusion for the final ODI doesn’t necessarily mean he will get a chance in the playing XI but it suggests that his ODI career is not yet over. Remember he played his last ODI in 2016!

Not too many flaws in these two teams who are going into the series decider. India have a great top order, while their middle order is struggling with the bat. On the other hand, England just have to play Indian wrist spinners well.

Numbers to watch out for:

  • Indian left arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav need two more wickets to complete 50 wickets in ODIs.
  • England opener Jonny Bairstow need 68 runs to complete 2000 runs in ODIs. He was dismissed on 38 in both the first and second ODIs – dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav on both the occasions!
  • England have won all their previous four ODIs at this venue. India lost their Headingly ODI by 42 runs when they last played here in 2014.



Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Jake Ball, James Vince


Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Suresh Raina, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel

Royal London ODI Series Schedule:

ODI #1:July 12 (Thursday), England vs India, Venue:Trent Bridge, Nottingham
ODI #2: July 14 (Saturday), England vs India, Venue:The Lord’s, London
ODI #3: July 17 (Tuesday), England vs India, Venue:Headingly, Leeds

** Image credits to BCCI

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *