Alex Hales Out of ODI Series Against India

Alex Hales out of ODI series against India

In a double blow to England cricket, Alex Hales has been ruled out of the remainder of the ODI series against India with a side strain. While training ahead of the first ODI at Trent Bridge, Alex Hales sustained this injury and he is now ruled out of the whole series. He was also not part of the England’s playing XI in the first ODI against India.

Though Hales was dropped (as they say injured) for the first ODI in Trent Bridge, he would have been a serious contender with the bat for the next two ODIs. England put on a poor show with the bat and faced an 8 wicket defeat in the first ODI at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

Alex Hales averaged 48 with the bat against India in the three match T20I series against India and this is certainly not the time for him to miss a series due to injuries. He was also a driving force in the England’s batting line up that scored the top two team totals in ODI history at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

This injury to Alex Hales has been a blessing in disguise for the England team as this solves their selection dilemma and at the same time it also denies them the services of an in-form batsman as a backup player. Medium Pacer Sam Curran was released by England to play for Surrey in the ongoing Vitality T20 Blast against Sussex on Friday night. He is set to join the England ODI squad at Lord’s on Saturday (July 14).

Dawid Malan, who is yet to make his ODI debut, is with the ODI squad at the Trent Bridge as a cover. And he will remain with the ODI squad for the Lord’s ODI as well as a replacement for Hales. In the due course, England will name a replacement for Alex Hales for the third and final ODI at Headingly in Leeds.

India defeated England by a big margin of 8 wickets in the first ODI with 59 balls to spare at Trent Bridge. The second ODI of the three match series will be played at Lord’s on Saturday (July 14). India are currently leading the three match series by 1 – 0.

England ODI Squad for the Lord’s ODI on Saturday (July 14):

Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Jake Ball, Sam Curran, Dawid Malan

** Photo credits to EuroSport

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *