Top 5 Bowling Performances in the IPL

Taking five wickets in the span of just four overs needs too much of effort from the bowler combined with a bit of luck. There are many instances where bowlers managed to keep the batsmen in control. In this article, lets discuss the players who have registered the best (top 5) bowling figures in an innings of an IPL game:

1.Sohail Tanvir (6/14 vs CSK) in 2008:

Sohail Tanvir has played a crucial role in helping the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2008 to win the inaugural edition of Indian Premier League (IPL). The only year players from Pakistan are allowed to play in the IPL, they have gone on to create few records, and this is one of them. The highlight of this spell is removing both the Chennai openers, Parthiv Patel and Stephen Fleming, in the very first over of the match.

2.Adam Zampa (6/19 vs SRH) in 2016:

Eight years later the young Aussie sensation Adam Zampa came close to beating Tanvir’s record, but he fell short by just a small margin. This was the same year Zampa went on to become the highest wicket taker in One Day International (ODI) games. However, he did not manage to find a permanent place in the National ODI side the following year.

3.Anil Kumble (5/5 vs RR) in 2009:

The first game of the second season of IPL has witnessed a five wicket haul from the Indian veteran bowler Anil Kumble. Also, this is the only five-fer in the whole tournament. Noticeably, this amazing spell was produced on one of the South African pitches which makes it so special.

4.Ishant Sharma (5/12 vs KT) in 2011:

Though Ishant Sharma is struggling to find a buyer in the Auction in the last two years, he has put on some brilliant performances for the Deccan Chargers long back in 2011.

5.Lasith Malinga (5/13 vs DD) in 2011:

Sri Lankan fast bowler Slinga Malinga has been of the most consistent bowlers across all seasons of the IPL. He is also the leading wicket-taker in the history of this tournament with 143 scalps in just the 98 games he represented Mumbai Indians. And apart from this five-fer he has also picked up four wicket hauls on four different occasions.

The eleventh season of IPL begins on 07th of April with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings locking horns at the Wankhede Stadium.

** Photo credits to Sportskeeda

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *