Superhuman ABD Keeps RCB Alive

Super human ABD keep RCB alive

IPL 2018, 51st Match, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sun Risers Hyderabad – Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 14 runs

Thursday, May 18, 2018, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Match Wrap:

Put into bat first, Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a mammoth 218 for 6 in 20 overs courtesy of a brilliant start provided by AB de Villiers (69 off 39) and Moeen Ali (65 off 34) after losing both their openers early. Four batsmen from RCB have a strike rate of over 170, which allowed them to get to this huge total.

Unfortunately, Young Basil Thampi of Sun Risers has conceded 70 runs from his 4 overs, which is also the most any bowler conceded in his 4 overs in an IPL game. Ishant Sharma playing for SRH in 2013 has conceded 66 runs which is at the second position in this list.

Set 219 to win, Sun Risers came almost close with brilliant performances from Kane Williamson (81 off 42) and Manish Pandey (62* off 38). However, SRH, who scored 204 for 3 in 20 overs, fell short by 14 runs in the end! Though Sun Risers scored their highest score batting-second; it was AB’s catch to dismiss Hales took all the attention.

“Got into a bad position, the ball had a bit of a curve on it. The minute I took the jump, I realized a little bit of my body was outside. I just had to put that right and luckily it stuck,” AB de Villiers described his super human effort (taking a catch on the boundary rope) in his own words.

RCB are now at the fifth position (12 points) and need to win their next game as well to be in the playoffs race. SRH were already qualified.

Match Summary:

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 218/6 in 20 overs (AB de Villiers – 69, Moeen Ali – 65, Rashid Khan – 3/27, Siddarth Kaul – 2/44) beat Sun Risers Hyderabad – 204/3 in 20 overs (Kane Williamson – 81, Manish Pandey – 62*, Moeen Ali – 1/21, Yuzvendra Chahal – 1/28) by 14 runs

Player of the Match:

AB de Villiers (RCB) – 65 runs and a brilliant one-handed catch on the boundary rope

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) – 652 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 wickets


Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Playing XI: Virat Kohli(c), Parthiv Patel(wk), Moeen Ali, AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Quinton de Kock, Manan Vohra, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande

Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Alex Hales, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Shakib Al Hasan, Shreevats Goswami(wk), Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

Bench: Carlos Brathwaite, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha, Ricky Bhui, T Natarajan, Mohammad Nabi, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

** Photo credits to NDTV Sports

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *