Sun Risers take top spot with a thrilling win against DD

Sun Risers take top spot with a thrilling win against DD

IPL 2018, 36th Match, Sun Risers Hyderabad vs Delhi Daredevils – Sun Risers Hyderabad won by 7 wickets

Saturday, May 05, 2018, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Match Wrap:

Dropped on zero, Yusuf Pathan went on to score 27 runs off just 12 deliveries to pull Sun Risers out from the jaws of a sure defeat! His innings included 2 fours and 2 massive sixes. With this win, Sun Risers take the top spot in the points table with 7 wins and 2 defeats in their 9 games.

At the toss, Delhi opted to bat first having won the toss. Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer are once again the top performers for Delhi. Shaw provided the ideal start Delhi needed with his 36-ball 65 but others did not get going except Captain Shreyas Iyer. Vijay Shankar hit 17 runs off the final over to help Delhi finish with 163 for the loss of 5 wickets in their 20 overs.

Chasing 164 to victory, SRH openers provided the ideal start adding 76 runs for the first wicket. 27 runs (including 4 sixes) were scored in the 6th over bowled by Avesh Khan taking their power play total to 61 runs, which is also their highest power play score this season.

Yet another flop-show by Manish Pandey with the bat who walked in at no. 4. Later captain Kane Williamson and Yusuf Pathan remained unbeaten till the end to hand SRH a thrilling 7-wicket victory in the final over.

Match Summary:

Sun Risers Hyderabad – 164/3 in 19.5 overs (Alex Hales – 45, Shikhar Dhawan – 33, Amit Mishra – 2/19, Liam Plunkett – 1/27) beat Delhi Daredevils – 163/5 in 20 overs (Prithvi Shaw – 65, Shreyas Iyer – 44, Rashid Khan – 2/23, Siddarth Kaul – 1/37) by 7 wickets

Player of the Match:

Rashid Khan (SRH) – 2 wickets and affected a run out

Orange Cap:

Ambati Rayudu (CSK) – 423 runs

Purple Cap:

Umesh Yadav (RCB) – 13 wickets


Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson (c), Alex Hales, Sandeep Sharma, Rashid Khan

Bench: Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Bipul Sharma, Chris Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite, Sachin Baby, Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, T Natarajan, Tanmay Agarwal, Basil Thampi, K Khaleel Ahmed

Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI: Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Naman Ojha, Daniel Christian, Glenn Maxwell, Trent Boult, Vijay Shankar, Shreyas Iyer (c), Avesh Khan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Prithvi Shaw

Bench: Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Colin Munro, Harshal Patel, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rahul Tewatia, Junior Dala, Sayan Ghosh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Abhishek Sharma, Manjot Kalra

** Photo credits to The National

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *