Sun Risers Hyderabad: IPL 2018 Team Review

Sun Risers Hyderabad: IPL 2018 Team Review

If one sits down to prepare a list of “The Strongest to Weakest IPL Teams”, the Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH) would definitely fit in the top 3 in that list. SRH are already a proven side in the tournament winning the title in 2016, beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 8 runs in the Final.

David Warner is one of the best captains in the IPL who can lead the team from the front. The presence of Tom Moody, Laxman and Murali in the Team management staff made SRH one of the strongest contenders to win the title in the upcoming season.

How the SRH fared in the IPL 2017:

Sun Risers have made their home ground (Uppal) a fortress winning 6 out of 7 games played at the venue. However, they had just 2 wins to show on Away venues.

The manner of their exit in the 2017 season in the first eliminator (a very long rain delay had cut down KKR’s chase to just 48 runs in six overs) must have hurt them badly though!

2018 Squad Review:

SRH have rightfully retained their captain and their ace bowler. In the 2017 season, Warner is the highest run scorer with 641 runs and Bhuvneshwar is the leading wicket taker with 26 wickets to his name.

Rashid Khan and Nabi are proven match winners, be it with the bat or with the ball. The addition of Yusuf Pathan and Shakib al Hasan only strengthened the already solid middle order and both can contribute with the ball.

With the inclusion of Saha as wicket keeper, Sun Risers have strengthened their position behind stumps. Saha is certainly a better bet than Naman Ojha. Sandeep Sharma could assist Bhuvi in bowling the death overs in the absence of Nehra (who announced his retirement) in this season.

Warner, Dhawan and Manish can help SRH to get to a good total while Bhuvi, Rashid and Sandeep can lead their bowling attack. Overall, SRH have all the areas covered going into the eleventh edition of the IPL.

Squad: David Warner (retained), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (retained), Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Kane Williamson, Carlos Brathwaite, Shakib al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Tanmay Agarwal

Sun Risers are a force at home in the previous IPL seasons, but need to work on improving their chances to win Away games. Overall, SRH had a fruitful 2016 & 2017 seasons and will be hoping to continue the same form in the upcoming 2018 season.

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

1 Comment

  1. Anup Jamsandekar

    March 8, 2018 at 1:09 pm

    Yeah, this teams looks quite promising this year but needs to workout more on their plans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *