SRH Pull Off Their First Win at The Eden Gardens

SRH Pull Off Their First Win at The Eden Gardens

IPL 2018, 10th Match, Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sun Risers Hyderabad – Sun Risers Hyderabad won by 5 wickets

Saturday, April 14, 2018, Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Match Wrap:

Unsuccessful in their first five attempts, Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH) finally are able to beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Eden Gardens in their sixth attempt on Saturday (April 14).

SRH has set the tone early in the game by restricting KKR to just a paltry total of 138 for the loss of 8 wickets in their 20 overs. Lynn is the top scorer for the hosts scoring a crucial 49 runs off 34 deliveries. But with rain making an appearance in the middle of their innings, KKR could not post a great total on the board.

Hosts made 52/1 in 7 overs before it rained. And they managed to score only 86 runs losing 7 wickets in 13 overs. The one-hour long delay and the dampening conditions has certainly effected the chances of the KKR in this home game.

Chasing a below par total, both SRH openers departed cheaply inside 6 overs. Kane Williamson then steadied the ship with a cool and composed half-century. With a crucial 59-run stand along with Shakib al Hasan for the fourth wicket, Williamson was able to guide SRH close to victory. Yusuf Pathan later finished the job with a 7-ball 17 to hand SRH their third successive victory.

Sun Risers Hyderabad are now unbeaten winning all the three games played so far in the tournament. They are also at the top in the Points table with Chennai Super Kings at the second position who have 2 wins in 2 games.

Match Summary:

Sun Risers Hyderabad – 139/5 in 19 overs (Kane Williamson – 50, Shakib al Hasan – 27, Sunil Narine – 2/17, Piyush Chawla – 1/20) beat Kolkata Knight Riders – 138/8 in 20 overs (Chris Lynn – 49, Dinesh Karthik – 29, Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 3/26, Billy Stanlake – 2/21, Shakib al Hasan – 2/21) by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match:

Billy Stanlake (SRH)

Orange Cap:

Shikhar Dhawan (SRH) – 129 runs

Purple Cap:

Mayank Markande (MI) – 7 wickets


Kolkata Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Mitchell Johnson, Shivam Mavi, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav

Bench: Rinku Singh, Tom Curran, Vinay Kumar, Ishank Jaggi, Apoorv Wankhade, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Prasidh Krishna

Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Billy Stanlake

Bench: Sandeep Sharma, Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, Ricky Bhui, T Natarajan, Mohammad Nabi, Basil Thampi, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Shreevats Goswami, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan

** Photo credits to Twitter

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *