RR Knocked RCB out of IPL 2018

RR knocked RCB out of IPL 2018

IPL 2018, 53rd Match, Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Rajasthan Royals won by 30 runs

Saturday, May 19, 2018, Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Match Wrap:

Just when the Rajasthan Royals needed, their opener Rahul Tripathi has come good with an unbeaten 58-ball 80 which included 5 fours and 3 sixes to help them finish with 164 for 5 in their 20 overs. This is just the innings Jos Buttler has played for them at the top of the innings in their recent games. Though the end total was just par, it proved to be more than enough when RCB came out to chase.

Virat Kohli and Parthiv Patel opened the batting for the Royal Challengers, who were chasing a victory in this game to stay alive in the playoff race. However, it has been a complete flop show from their batters falling short by 30 runs in the end. AB de Villiers (53) and Parthiv Patel (33) excelled with the bat again but their effort wasn’t enough to take them over the line.

With this win, Rajasthan are now placed at the fourth spot while Royal Challengers crashed out of the IPL with just 6 wins in their 14 games.

For Rajasthan to make it to the playoffs:

  • Mumbai Indians have to lose to Delhi Daredevils in the night game on Sunday at the Kotla.
  • Chennai Super Kings have to beat Kings XI Punjab in the first game on Sunday or CSK need to lose by a small margin.

Match Summary:

Rajasthan Royals – 164/5 in 20 overs (Rahul Tripathi – 80*, Ajinkya Rahane – 33, Umesh Yadav – 3/25, Mohammad Siraj – 1/33) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore – 134 all out in 19.2 overs (AB de Villiers – 53, Parthiv Patel – 33, Shreyas Gopal – 4/16, Ben Laughlin – 2/16) by 30 runs

Player of the Match:

Shreyas Gopal (RR) – 4 wickets

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) – 652 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 wickets


Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Rahul Tripathi, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Sanju Samson, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Stuart Binny, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin

Bench: Mahipal Lomror, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ankit Sharma, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, D’Arcy Short, Anureet Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Playing XI: Parthiv Patel (wk), Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Quinton de Kock, Chris Woakes, Manan Vohra, Brendon McCullum, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande

** Photo credits to India TV

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *