Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sun Risers Hyderabad Preview


IPL 2018, 51st Match, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sun Risers Hyderabad

Thursday, May 17, 2018, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Match Preview:

In a must win encounter, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are all set to host the Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH) in their home ground at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Thursday (May 17). Play is scheduled to start at 08:00 pm IST.

RCB has to win this game and their remaining game against Rajasthan to stand a chance to qualify for the playoffs. On the other hand, Sun Risers Hyderabad have already qualified for the playoffs and are sitting prettily at the top position in the points table.

Sun Risers Yusuf Pathan and Wriddhiman Saha missed previous games with injuries but they were seen practicing in the nets; however, they might not be rushed to play tonight with important playoff matches are just days away.

Seventh placed RCB will move to fifth position if they win this game while Sun Risers will remain at the top even if they win or lose this game.

First match result in the ongoing season:

Sun Risers Hyderabad won the game by 5 runs. Batting heavy Royal Challengers couldn’t chase down 147 after a good start and the defeat prompted Virat to say this at the post match presentation – “We deserve to lose this game. We were not good enough on the day. I don’t think we showed enough application. The kind of shots we played, they were not on at that stage. I think we threw it away.”

Head to Head Record:

These two teams have played 11 IPL games against each other in which Royal Challengers Bangalore has won just 4 games with SRH winning the remaining 7 games. In the 5 games at the Chinnaswamy stadium, RCB has won 3 games while SRH won the other 2.

Favorites to win:

Sun Risers Hyderabad are clearly the favorites to win this game. RCB has to push themselves hard if they are aiming to win this game who are under tremendous pressure already.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Quinton de Kock (wk), Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli (c), Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Murugan Ashwin, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande

Sun Risers Hyderabad: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Kane Williamson (c), Carlos Brathwaite, Shakib al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Tanmay Agarwal

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *