Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab Preview

IPL 2018, 8th Match, Royal Challengers Banglore vs Kings XI Punjab

Friday, April 13, 2018, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Match Preview:

After losing their first game to the KKR at The Eden, The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) returns to their home ground to play their first home game in the ongoing eleventh edition of IPL. RCB will host Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the Chinnaswamy stadium on Friday (April 13). Play starts at 08:00 pm IST.

KXIP are coming into this game with a comfortable win against the Delhi Daredevils in Mohali on Sunday (April 08). It would be interesting to watch how KL Rahul bats against his previous team, RCB. Remember, he smashed the fastest fifty in the IPL tournament, in just 14 balls.

It will be a contest between young captain Ravichandran Ashwin vs the experienced Virat Kohli. Both are very much loved all over the country and it is good match to watch!

KL Rahul and Chris Gayle, who are now in the Punjab’s squad, played for RCB till last year. It would be interesting to see Chris Gayle in action at this venue if he makes the playing XI. He had to sit out in KXIP’s first game against Delhi.

AB de Villiers played a crucial role with the bat in their first game to get RCB to a good score. Punjab have to be very much careful and should have their plans ready for him. Virat Kohli has a dull outing at the Eden with a batting strike rate of less than 100 and he should look to improve it in this game.

Head to Head record:

Royal Challengers Banglore and Kings XI Punjab have played 20 games against each other so far in the first 10 seasons out of which RCB won just 8 games and KXIP won 12 games.

Favorites to win:

Both teams have a heavy packed batting line up with super bowlers to assist them. It is really tough to pick a team out of these two. I would like to go with Royal Challengers Bangalore taking the home ground factor into consideration and the kind of top order batting line up they possess.


Royal Challengers Banglore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Brendon McCullum, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Quinton de Kock, Mohammed Siraj, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin de Grandhomme, M. Ashwin, Parthiv Patel, Moeen Ali, Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Pavan Deshpande, Anirudha Ashok Joshi

Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul, Ravichandran Ashwin, Andrew Tye, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Karun Nair, Mujeeb Zadran, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, David Miller, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Singh Sran, Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, Ben Dwarshuis, Akshdeep Nath, Manoj Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Manzoor Dar, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *