Rishabh Pant Ton in Vain as Delhi Daredevils Knocked out

Rishabh Pant ton in vain as Delhi Daredevils knocked out

IPL 2018, 42nd Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Sun Risers Hyderabad – Sun Risers Hyderabad won by 9 wickets

Thursday, May 10, 2018, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Wrap:

Opting to bat first in their own home ground, Delhi Daredevils got off to a respectable total at the back of a maiden IPL century from Rishabh Pant, who scored 128 off just 63 deliveries with 15 fours and 7 sixes. None of their other batters contributed and they finished with just 187 for 5 in their 20 overs.

During the chase, Captain Kane Williamson along with their opener Shikhar Dhawan (both unbeaten) guided Sun Risers Hyderabad to their ninth victory beating Delhi Daredevils by a 9-wicket margin. With this win, SRH solidified their position at the top of the points table with 18 points against their name. This is also a record sixth straight win for them in this tournament going past their streak of five they had at the end of IPL 2016 and start of IPL 2017.

Rishabh Pant unbeaten 128* is also the highest score by an Indian in this tournament and this knock has also helped him become the current holder of the Orange cap. Unfortunate for him and for Delhi to be on the losing side in this game after such a knock.

With the result of this match, Delhi became the first team to get knocked out from the ongoing IPL tournament while SRH already qualified for the play offs after registering their eighth victory in their previous match.

Dhawan and Williamson played well for Sun Risers but Man of the Match should have been Rishabh Pant for his brilliant knock which helped Delhi to a great total single handedly.

Match Summary:

Sun Risers Hyderabad – 191/1 in 18.5 overs (Shikhar Dhawan – 92*, Kane Williamson – 83*, Harshal Patel – 1/32) beat Delhi Daredevils – 187/5 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant – 128*, Harshal Patel – 24, Shakib al Hasan – 2/27, Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 1/51) by 9 wickets

Player of the Match:

Shikhar Dhawan (SRH) – 92 runs, a catch and affected a run out!

Orange Cap:

Rishabh Pant (DD) – 521 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 16 wickets


Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI: Prithvi Shaw, Jason Roy, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Liam Plunkett, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Trent Boult

Bench: Naman Ojha, Gautam Gambhir, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sayan Ghosh, Junior Dala, Avesh Khan, Daniel Christian

Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Alex Hales, Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

Bench: Wriddhiman Saha, Carlos Brathwaite, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, T Natarajan, Mohammad Nabi, Basil Thampi, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan

** Image credits to NDTV Sports

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *