RCB’s Ten-wicket Win Keeps RCB, MI Alive!

IPL 2018, 48th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 10 wickets

Monday, May 14, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Wrap:

Two short length deliveries from Umesh Yadav in the space of four balls in the fifth over accounted for Lokesh Rahul and Chris Gayle. Two quick wickets halted the momentum of Kings XI Punjab and with another middle order set back, the hosts were bowled out for just 88 on the board in 15.1 overs.

Umesh Yadav is the star performer of RCB bowlers picking up three wickets, except for Tim Southee, while the rest of the bowlers managed to pick up a wicket each.

Set a target of 89, Parthiv Patel and Virat Kohli walked out to chase. And the pair remained unbeaten till the end scoring 92 without losing any wickets in just 9.1 overs to register a 10-wicket win. This win will keep RCB’s chances of making to the playoffs still alive.

Andrew Tye (KXIP) too remained wicket less in this game who is fresh from two back-to-back four wicket hauls. None of Punjab bowlers looked effective against the free flowing RCB openers!

Apart from the easy win, RCB has also benefited from this match with a massive boost to their Net Run Rate (NRR). From a NRR of -0.261 they climbed themselves to 0.218, this will be massive in this last week of the ongoing season.

Kings XI Punjab are now down to fifth position with a poor NRR while RCB are still at the seventh position. With RCB winning this game, Mumbai Indians (with 10 points in 12 games) can still manage to break into the top 4 in the ongoing season.

Match Summary:

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 92/0 in 8.1 overs (Virat Kohli – 48*, Parthiv Patel – 40*) beat Kings XI Punjab – 88 in 15.1 overs (Aaron Finch – 26, Lokesh Rahul – 21, Umesh Yadav – 3/23, Yuzvendra Chahal – 1/6) by 10 wickets

Player of the Match:

Umesh Yadav (RCB) – 3 wickets

Orange Cap:

Rishabh Pant (DD) – 582 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 20 wickets


Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot

Bench: Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Barinder Sran

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Playing XI: Parthiv Patel (wk), Moeen Ali, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Quinton de Kock, Manan Vohra, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande

** Image credits to Circle of Cricket

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *