RCB start their home season with a win

IPL 2018, 8th Match, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab – Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 4 wickets

Friday, April 13, 2018, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Match Wrap:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) convincingly defeated Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by four wickets to start their home season on a high. Remember they had just managed to win a single game out of their 7 home games in the last season.

Another match, another home team win! Except for Mumbai Indians in the tournament opener, in all the other games so far, the home team managed to win. Also, except the rain-marred game between Rajasthan and Delhi, teams batting second has won the games so far in the ongoing eleventh edition of Indian Premier League (IPL).

Umesh Yadav set the tone at the start for RCB who opt to bowl with three wickets in one over. He picked up the wickets of Mayank Agarwal, Aaron Finch and Yuvraj Singh in the fourth over of the match. He got wickets and was economical too conceding just 23 runs in his four overs.

Another explosive start by Rahul scoring 47 runs off just 30 deliveries with 2 fours and 4 sixes. And Ashwin’s knock in the end helped Kings XI Punjab finish with 155 in 19.2 overs.

The South African duo, Quinton de Kock and AB de Villiers, stood tall to take RCB closer to the target after losing Brendon McCullum and Virat Kohli early in the innings. In the process, AB got to his half-century with 2 fours and 4 sixes while the former departed on 45.

Coincidentally, three players from both the sides are out for a ‘Golden Duck’ in this match. Punjab’s Aaron Finch and RCB’s Brendon McCullum and Sarfraz Khan are the victims.

Match Summary:

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 159/6 in 19.3 overs (AB de Villiers – 57, Quinton de Kock – 45, Ravichandran Ashwin – 2/30, Axar Patel – 1/25) beat Kings XI Punjab – 155 in 19.2 overs (Lokesh Rahul – 47, Ravichandran Ashwin – 33, Umesh Yadav – 3/23, Washington Sundar – 2/22) by 4 wickets

Player of the Match:

Umesh Yadav (RCB)

Orange Cap:

Shikhar Dhawan (SRH) – 122 runs

Purple Cap:

Mayank Markande (MI) – 7 wickets


Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Playing XI: Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock (wk), Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee

Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Bench: Chris Gayle, Ankit Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, David Miller

** Photo credits to Cricbuzz

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *