Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab Preview


IPL 2018, 40th Match, Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab

Tuesday, May 08, 2018, Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Match Preview:

Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) are getting ready to play their second game against each other in the space of just three days. RR will host KXIP in Jaipur on Tuesday. Play to start at 08:00 pm IST.

While Kings XI managed a win in their home ground in Indore, the Rajasthan Royals will look to avenge the loss in their home ground. In-form Lokesh Rahul and Chris Gayle are the Punjab players to watch out for in this match. While Rajasthan’s expensive Ben Stokes and Jayadev Unadkat are yet to prove their worth in the ongoing season. Jos Buttler will look to continue his fine form with the bat.

Ashwin with six wins in 9 games under his belt is looking to be the comfortable captain between the two captains in this match. Ajinkya Rahane along with the team management need to step up to bring back Rajasthan to winning ways.

In the ongoing season, Ashwin-led Kings XI Punjab has won 3 out of their last 5 games while Rajasthan Royals lost 4 out of their last 5 games. This stat tells you who are under pressure going into the game!

First Match Result in the ongoing season:

Rajasthan rode early on the half-century of Jos Buttler and with no support from others they managed to get only 152 for 9 in their 20 overs. Lokesh Rahul with an unbeaten 84* helped Kings XI Punjab take a comfortable 6-wicket win in Indore.

Head to Head Record:

Out of the 16 games played against each other, Rajasthan Royals have won 9 games while Kings XI Punjab managed 7 wins. In the last 5 games against each other, KXIP won four games while RR won managed to just win a game. Also, Kings XI Punjab won the first game between these two franchises.

Favorites to win:

Kings XI Punjab are definitely the favorites to win this game against Rajasthan Royals. If one doubts it, just watch the replay of the first game on Sunday (May 06) between these two teams!!


Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, D’Arcy Short, Shreyas Gopal, Ben Laughlin, Stuart Binny, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *