Rain helps Rajasthan Royals Register Their First Win

Rain helps Rajasthan Royals Register Their First Win

IPL 2018, 6th Match, Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils – Rajasthan Royals won by 10 runs (DLS method)

Wednesday, April 11, 2018, Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Match Wrap:

There are mixed emotions with the Delhi Daredevils (DD) as they lost to the Rajasthan Royals (RR) by just 10 runs in Jaipur. Rain has come to home team rescue when they were in big trouble. However, Rajasthan will take this win to get some confidence after their ‘flop show’ against SRH in Hyderabad on Monday (April 09).

DD won the toss and they have asked RR to bat first, who are off a to a worst start with their opener D’Arcy Short running himself out again. This is a nightmarish start to Darcy’s IPL career with a run out dismissal in both his first matches.

RR has made changes to their batting order by sending in Ben Stokes at no. 3. However, he fell for just 16 to a beautiful swinging delivery from Boult, which just kissed the bat on its way to the Wicket keeper. Superb stroke play from Samson in the middle overs and Buttler at the end helped Rajasthan to get to 153 for the loss of 5 wickets in 17.5 overs.

Delhi are 100% in the game till this point and then the Rain interrupted the match. Due to a long rain break, RR did not bat again and the target for Delhi Daredevils was revised to 71 runs in 6 overs. The target is huge but with the line-up Delhi has, it is chasable.

To dampen their chances even more, they were off with a dreadful start with Colin Munro running himself out trying to steal a single in the very first delivery of the chase!

Though everyone played their shots, DD in the end fell short by 10 runs handing Rajasthan Royals a much needed victory. This is the first game in the ongoing tournament in which the team batting first has won!

Match Summary:

Rajasthan Royals – 153/5 in 17.5 overs (Ajinkya Rahane – 45, Sanju Samson – 37, Shahbaz Nadeem – 2/34, Trent Boult – 1/26) beat Delhi Daredevils – 60/4 in 6 overs (Rishabh Pant – 20, Chris Morris – 17*, Ben Laughlin – 2/20, Jayadev Unadkat – 1/24) by 10 runs (DLS Method)

Player of the Match:

Sanju Samson (RR)


Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Ajinkya Rahane (c), D’Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Jos Buttler (wk), Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin

Bench: Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Ish Sodhi, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen

Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI: Colin Munro, Gautam Gambhir (c), Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Shahbaz Nadeem, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami

Bench: Daniel Christian, Amit Mishra, Jason Roy, Prithvi Shaw, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett

** Photo credits to Hindustan Times

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

1 Comment

  1. Wafiq

    August 22, 2018 at 3:27 pm

    Gautam Gambhir is an Indian cricketer, who played all formats of the game. He is a left-handed opening batsman who plays domestic cricket for Delhi, and captained Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *