Purple Cap Winners in the IPL

Purple Cap Winners in the IPL

IPL 2008: Sohail Tanvir (RR)

11 innings, 22 wickets, Best: 6/14, 4-fors: 1, 5-fors: 1

Sohail Tanvir topped the wickets list in the only IPL season in which Pakistan were allowed to play! Needless to say, he is the first player to win the Purple Cap playing a crucial role to help RR win the inaugural IPL edition.

IPL 2009: RP Singh (DC)

16 innings, 23 wickets, Best: 4/22, 4-fors: 1

RP Singh bagged 23 wickets in this season helping Deccan Chargers win their maiden IPL title. Noticeably, this season was played in South Africa.

IPL 2010: Pragyan Ojha (DC)

16 innings, 21 wickets, Best: 3/26

Indian conditions are always termed as spin-friendly. However, Pragyan Ojha is the only spinner to win the Purple Cap award in all the ten seasons!

IPL 2011: Lasith Malinga (MI)

16 innings, 28 wickets, Best: 5/13, 5-fors: 1

Slinga Malinga played a crucial role in 2011 helping Mumbai Indians win their maiden IPL title. Also, he remains the highest wicket taker of the tournament (all season combined) till date.

IPL 2012: Morne Morkel (DD)

16 innings, 25 wickets, Best: 4/20, 4-fors: 1

Morne Morkel had a dream season helping Delhi Daredevils take the top spot in the Points table after finishing at the bottom in 2011. He bagged 25 wickets at a bowling average of just 18.12.

IPL 2013: Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

18 innings, 32 wickets, Best: 4/42, 4-fors: 1

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s main go-to man Dwayne Bravo has picked up 32 wickets in this whole season. This is also the most for any bowler in any season till date. It takes a while before someone breaks this record!

IPL 2014: Mohit Sharma (CSK)

16 innings, 23 wickets, Best: 4/14, 4-fors: 1

The season that helped Mohit Sharma cement his place in the shorter format of the game for India. However, he later lost his place in the team due to injures coupled with poor form!

IPL 2015: Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

16 innings, 26 wickets, Best: 3/22

Though Bravo has not picked up a 4-wicket haul in an innings, he managed to top the table. That’s called consistency! His slower deliveries are always difficult to pick which helped him take the top spot in this season. He is also the first player to get the award twice.

IPL 2016: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

17 innings, 23 wickets, Best: 4/29, 4-fors: 1

The remarkable rise of Bhuvi! He was always consistent and the swing he generates with the new ball is a tough one to pick for any batsmen! He played a crucial role in SRH’s maiden IPL title this season.

IPL 2017: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

14 innings, 26 wickets, Best: 5/19, 5-fors: 1

Bhuvi became the first player to win the Purple Cap award twice in a row and is the second player after Bravo to bag this award twice.

** Photo credits to YouTube

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *