Orange Cap Holders in the IPL

Orange Cap Holders in the IPL

IPL 2008: Shaun Marsh (KXIP)

11 innings, 616 runs, Best: 115, 100s: 1, 50s: 5

Australia’s Shaun Marsh lit up the inaugural season of IPL and he is one of the six batsmen to score a century in that season. Gautam Gambhir is the second leading run scorer with 534 runs to his name.

IPL 2009: Matthew Hayden (CSK)

12 innings, 572 runs, Best: 89, 50s: 5

IPL has moved to South Africa in 2009 due to various reasons. Matthew Hayden, playing for CSK, has come on top in the small South African grounds amassing 572 runs including five fifties.

IPL 2010: Sachin Tendulkar (MI)

15 innings, 618 runs, Best: 89*, 50s: 5

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar has managed to better Shaun Marsh’s record to become the highest scorer in a single season of this tournament. He has proved that the shortest format is not just for the youngsters!

IPL 2011: Chris Gayle (RCB)

12 innings, 608 runs, Best: 107, 100s: 2, 50s: 3

The year when Gayle storm has arrived! Chris Gayle became the first player to score multiple centuries in a single season of IPL.

IPL 2012: Chris Gayle (RCB)

14 innings, 733 runs, Best: 128*, 100s: 1, 50s: 7

Chris Gayle became the first player to win the Orange cap twice and he has done it in consecutive seasons! Gayle’s 733 runs are then the most for any player in a single season of IPL.

IPL 2013: Michael Hussey (CSK)

17 innings, 733 runs, Best: 95, 50s: 6

Mr. Cricket Hussey has just managed to outscore Gayle (708 runs) to take the Orange Cap at the end of the season! This is the season where Gayle smashed 175*, the highest score for any player in this shortest format of the game!

IPL 2014: Robin Uthappa (KKR)

16 innings, 660 runs, Best Score: 83*, 50s: 5

Robin Uthappa has announced himself at the big stage outscoring everyone to become the highest scorer in the season. He also became only the second right hand batsman after Sachin to win this award.

IPL 2015: David Warner (SRH)

14 innings, 562 runs, Best: 91, 50s: 7

Warner was the lone performer for Sun Risers in the 2015 season. Though he top scored in the season, SRH did not even make it to the top four!

IPL 2016: Virat Kohli (RCB)

16 innings, 973 runs, Best: 113: 100s: 4, 50s: 7

Virat Kohli is the only player till date to score more than 2 centuries in a single IPL season. And many think it is going to take a long while to beat his 973 runs!

IPL 2017: David Warner (SRH)

14 innings, 641 runs, Best: 126, 100s: 1, 50s: 4

David Warner became the second player after Chris Gayle to win the Orange Cap twice. No other player in 2017 managed to score 500 runs!


** Photo Credits to Youtube

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *