Shreyas Iyer’s Blitzkrieg Torments Kolkata Knights

Shreyas Iyer's Blitzkrieg torments Kolkata Knights

IPL 2018, 26th Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Friday, 27th April, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Review :

The Delhi Daredevils pulled off an unbelievable victory against a strong Kolkata Knight Riders at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Having won the toss, the Delhi Daredevils opted to bat first and got off to a good start. Gautam Gambhir dropped himself from the playing XI. Shreyas Iyer led the side from the front. Colin Munro & Prithvi Shaw opened the innings for Delhi. Munro got off to a flier and kept Delhi going. These duo added 59 runs in 7 overs. Shreyas Iyer got in after Munro got out. The Iyer – Shaw partnership looked unstoppable with both the batsman making merry of the Kolkata Bowling. The added 68 runs in the next 7 overs. Prithvi Shaw(62,44b,7x4s,2x6s) only playing his second game in the IPL played a crucial knock. Rishabh Pant got out off his 1st ball. Shreyas Iyer at the other end looked unfazed by these kept the scoreboard running. He took apart Shivam Mavi(1-58,4overs) scoring 28 off the 20th over and finished off at 93(40b,3x4s,10x6s) taking his team to the highest score of this year’s IPL,219/4.

The Kolkata Knight Riders in the pursuit of a massive score didn’t get the start they wanted. They lost Chris Lynn(5), Robin Uthappa(1) , Nitish Rana(8) and Sunil Narine(26,9b) very quickly and were reduced to 46-4 and 77-5 in no time. Shubam Gill and Andrew Russell showed some resistance and got some quick runs. Their partnership was broken, Shubam Gill was run out for 37(29b) and Andrew Russel(44) departed to an Avesh Khan’s beauty. Trent Boult, Maxwell, Avesh Khan and Amit Mishra chipped in with 2 wickets each. The Knight Riders ended up at 164/9 in their 20 overs losing the game by 55 runs.

Match Summary :

Delhi Daredevils 219/4 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 93, Prithvi Shaw 62, Piyush Chawla 1-33)


Kolkata Knight Riders 164/9 in 20 overs (Andrew Russell 44, Shubam Gill 37, Amit Mishra 2-23)

By 55 runs.

Player of the Match :

Shreyas Iyer – Delhi Daredevils

Orange Cap :

Ambati Rayudu – Chennai Super Kings

Purple Cap :

Trent Boult – Delhi Daredevils

Match Squad :

Delhi Daredevils

Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Glenn Maxwell, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult

Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav

Image Credits : BCCI

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *