Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils Preview

IPL 2018, 9th Match, Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils

Saturday, April 14, 2018, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Match Preview:

Coming into this match, both Mumbai Indians (MI) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) have two losses in two games each. Though both the teams will be down in confidence, this is an interesting contest to watch with some serious talent in both the squads.

All eyes will be on Young Mayank Markande (MI) after his superb show with the ball picking up 7 wickets in 2 matches which also includes a 4-wkt haul. The other notable thing in this match is the openers from both the sides who have 7 Twenty 20 International centuries among them.

Colin Munro has three T20I centuries while Rohit Sharma and Evin Lewis have 2 centuries apiece in this shortest format. Though these three players disappointed with the bat so far, it would be exciting to watch all three power hitters in action in a single game.

It would be a big test for the Mumbai bowlers with the presence of hitters in Delhi’s top 5 batting line up. Death bowling has been a problem for the MI leaking too many runs, however, Mustafizur bowled brilliantly in their second game against SRH before Cutting let SRH loose. MI need to work on this before taking field on Saturday.

Rohit and Gambhir are currently the third and fourth highest run getters in the tournament respectively separated by just 46 runs. No wonder if they swap positions in this game looking at the poor form of Rohit.

Head to Head Record:

Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils have played 20 games against each other in the first 10 seasons in which Mumbai won 11 games and Delhi won the remaining 9 games.

Favorites to win:

Both teams are heavily built with powerful hitters, however, Mumbai bowling looks strong between the two. And with the home ground factor coming into picture, Mumbai Indians are certainly the favorites to win this match.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Nidheesh M D Dinesan, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan

Delhi Daredevils: Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammad Shami, Gautam Gambhir, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Daniel Christian, Jason Roy, Naman Ojha, Prithvi Shaw, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Avesh Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalra, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sayan Ghosh

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *