Mumbai Indians storm into top four!

Mumbai Indians storm into top four!

IPL 2018, 41st Match, Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians – Mumbai Indians won by 102 runs

Wednesday, May 09, 2018, Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Match Wrap:

From the bottom of the table to making it to the top four, Mumbai Indians are living a dream run in the ongoing eleventh edition of Indian Premier League! Just when everyone thought it is all over, MI defeated KKR for the record 8th time in a row to take a comfortable position in the points table.

Mumbai, batting first, put on the highest total at the Eden Gardens scoring 210 for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Ishan Kishan was their star performer with the bat scoring 62 runs off just 21 balls with 5 fours and 6 sixes. Kishan’s 17-ball fifty is the joint second fastest fifty in the ongoing season of IPL with Rahul’s 14-ball knock is at the top in this list.

Chasing a mammoth target, Kolkata Knight Riders were never in the game as they kept on losing wickets at crucial moments. And in the end, the hosts were bowled out for just 108 on the board conceding a 102-run win for the Mumbai Indians. By runs, this is the biggest defeat for KKR while second biggest win for Mumbai.

The Pandya brothers once again played a crucial role in this win as they picked up 4 wickets between them. Ishan Kishan, who excelled with the bat for Mumbai, was presented with the Man of the Match award.

Both Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders have 10 points each but with a better run rate MI are placed at the fourth position with KKR sitting at the fifth position.

Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians – 210/6 in 20 overs (Ishan Kishan – 62, Rohit Sharma – 36, Suryakumar Yadav – 36, Piyush Chawla – 3/48, Sunil Narine – 1/27) beat Kolkata Knight Riders – 108 in 18.1 overs (Chris Lynn – 21, Nitish Rana – 21, Krunal Pandya – 2/21, Hardik Pandya – 2/16) by 102 runs

Player of the Match:

Ishan Kishan – 62 off just 21 deliveries with 5 fours and 6 sixes

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) 471 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 16 wickets


Kolkata Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Tom Curran, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav

Bench: Mitchell Johnson, Ishank Jaggi, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Shubman Gill

Mumbai Indians:

Playing XI: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jean-Paul Duminy, Ishan Kishan (wk), Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench: Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne

** Image credits to Zee News

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *