Mumbai Indians live to fight another day!

Mumbai Indians live to fight another day!

IPL 2018, 34th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians – Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets

Friday, May 04, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Wrap:

IPL defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) comfortably defeated the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) by six wickets at the Holkar Stadium in Indore to stay alive in the tournament! This is just their third win in their 9 games played so far.

“Pandya Ka Dandya” – This was displayed on the big screen present in the stadium after this win. Hardik Pandya scored 23 off just 13 deliveries while Krunal Pandya scored an unbeaten 31* off just 12 deliveries. Both played crucial part in this much needed win for Mumbai. Suryakumar Yadav set the tone for Mumbai with his half-century while Rohit remained unbeaten on 24* to help Mumbai take the match.

Earlier in the match, Mumbai Indians won the toss and opted to bowl. Their bowlers backed the decision until the late flourish from Marcus Stoinis in the death overs. One again, Chris Gayle is impressive with the bat for Punjab scoring a half-century but he took 40 deliveries for his 50. Unbeaten 29* by Marcus Stoinis is their second best score.

Kings XI Punjab are now at fourth position after this defeat with 10 points and Mumbai Indians are at the fifth position with 6 points. Notably, all the teams from fifth to eighth position have 6 points each with Net Run Rate separating them.

Defending champions, Mumbai, have 5 more games left in the ongoing season and they have to win all those five to stand a chance to get into the top 4 to play the qualifiers. Punjab need to win just three out of their remaining 6 games.

Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians – 176/4 in 19 overs (Suryakumar Yadav – 57, Krunal Pandya – 31, Mujeeb ur Rahman – 2/37, Andrew Tye – 1/35) beat Kings XI Punjab – 174/6 in 20 overs (Chris Gayle – 50, Marcus Stoinis – 29, Jasprit Bumrah – 1/19, Ben Cutting – 1/28) by 6 wickets

Player of the Match:

Suryakumar Yadav – 57 runs and a catch

Orange Cap:

Ambati Rayudu (CSK) – 391 runs

Purple Cap:

Trent Boult (DD) – 13 wickets


Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Axar Patel, Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Bench: Manoj Tiwary, David Miller, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Aaron Finch, Barinder Sran

Mumbai Indians:

Playing XI: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench: Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne

** Photo credits to NDTV sports

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *