Mumbai Indians alive in playoffs race

Mumbai Indians alive in playoffs race

IPL 2018, 50th Match, Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab – Mumbai Indians won by 3 runs

Wednesday, May 16, 2018, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Match Wrap:

Andrew Tye’s four-wicket haul or Lokesh Rahul’s marathon knock couldn’t save Kings XI Punjab at the Wankhede Stadium against Mumbai Indians! The hosts have managed to win the game just by a whisker – a margin of 3 runs in which all the 40 overs were bowled.

Opted to bowl first, Andrew Tye backed his captain’s decision picking up 4 wickets conceding just 16 runs. Cleaning up Evin Lewis in the third over was the best scalp of his spell. This is the third time he picked up four wickets in a single game in this season and all these three 4-wkt hauls came in his span of four games.

Tye routed through Mumbai’s top order but a 65 run partnership between Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard has helped Mumbai recover from the early wickets. A 23-ball 50 from Pollard and a 23-ball 32 from Krunal aided MI to finish with 186 for 8 in 20 overs.

Chasing 187 to win, Punjab lost Chris Gayle in the fourth over courtesy a well-aimed bouncer from McClenaghan. Lokesh Rahul held one end tight with his 60-ball 94 but Punjab did not get over the line. Bumrah was the pick of MI bowlers with 3 wickets conceding just 15 runs in his 4 overs.

Another failure for Yuvraj Singh and we don’t see his future to be bright in this game with back to back failures. It wouldn’t be a surprise even if he does not have any buyers in the IPL season next year.

Punjab’s Rahul and Tye are current holders of Orange and Purple cap respectively but their team is at the sixth position with 6 defeats in their previous seven games! Mumbai climb to the fourth position with this win.

Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians – 186/8 in 20 overs (Kieron Pollard – 50, Krunal Pandya – 32, Andrew Tye – 4/20, Ravichandran Ashwin – 2/18) beat Kings XI Punjab – 183/5 in 20 overs (Lokesh Rahul – 94, Aaron Finch – 46, Jasprit Bumrah – 3/15, Mitchell McClenaghan – 2/37) by 3 runs

Player of the Match:

Jasprit Bumrah (MI) – 3 wickets

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) – 652 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 wickets


Mumbai Indians:

Playing XI: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench: Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne, Jean-Paul Duminy

Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Marcus Stoinis, Axar xPatel, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot

Bench: David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair

** Photo credits to

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *