List of Award winners in IPL 2018

List of Award winners in IPL 2018

Orange cap – Kane Williamson (SRH)

Kane Williamson with an extra responsibility of leading the Sun Risers this season has scored 735 runs in 17 matches. He has scored eight half-centuries in this season with a best score of 84. A cheque of INR 10 Lakh rupees and a trophy (Orange cap) is presented to him.

Purple cap – Andrew Tye (KXIP)

Andre Tye playing for Kings XI Punjab picked up 24 wickets in 14 matches. His slower deliveries are tough to pick and he has three four-fers in this season! A cheque of INR 10 Lakh and a trophy (Purple cap) is presented to him.

Emerging player of the season – Rishabh Pant (DD)

Rishabh Pant was awarded a cheque INR 10 Lakh rupees and a trophy by the BCCI. The recipient of this award is chosen by a combination of Public online votes and commentator opinions. Pant played a crucial role in Delhi’s batting line up and is good behind the stumps as well.

Stylish Player of the Season – Rishabh Pant (DD)

Double delight for Rishabh as he has been chosen for the Stylish player of the season award as well. Rishabh has scored 684 runs and is the second highest run getter in this season. A cheque of INR 10 Lakh and a trophy is handed over to Pant.

Perfect Catch of the Season – Trent Boult (DD)

A cheque of INR 10 Lakh, a trophy and a VIVO phone is presented to the winner. Trent Boult took an amazing one-handed catch at the boundary rope fully airborne playing against Royal Challengers Bangalore to dismiss Virat Kohli.

Most Valuable Player – Sunil Narine (KKR)

An all-round performance from Sunil Narine as he scored 357 runs and picked up 17 wickets in the 16 games he played for Kolkata Knight Riders. A cheque of INR 10 Lakh rupees and a trophy is presented to him.

Super Striker of the Season – Sunil Narine (KKR)

Surprisingly, it’s a bowler who won this award! Sunil Narine opening the batting for KKR has maintained a strike rate of 190 in this season. Tata Nexon SUV is presented to the winner. Players have to feature in at least seven matches in the whole season to be eligible for this award.

Fair play award – Mumbai Indians

The teams are judged by the umpires over the course of the match during the whole season. Mumbai Indians with an average of 5.29 points in every match won this award. On a lighter note, Playing Kieron Pollard in relatively less number of matches has earned them this award.

This is the first time MI has won this award. CSK won it most times a record six times in the nine seasons they played. Kings XI (2009), Sun Risers (2016) and Gujarat Lions (2017) are the recipients of this award in the rest of the three seasons.

** Photo credits to SportsLibro

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *