Kolkata Knight Riders book playoff berth in style

Kolkata Knight Riders book playoff berth in style

IPL 2018, 54th Match, Sun Risers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders – Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets

Saturday, May 19, 2018, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Match Wrap:

Coming into this game, the Kolkata Knight Riders needed just a win to book a playoff berth and they delivered in style beating the table toppers in their own home ground. Opted to bat first, Sun Risers were on course to get to a big score with Kane Williamson at the crease. However, once he departed, their scoring rate has drastically come down.

Manish Pandey once again was not so convincing with the bat and Sun Risers might leave this 11-crore player in the next IPL season. From 141 for 2 in 15 overs, they ended up with just 173 for 5 in 20 overs. Scoring just 32 runs in the final 5 overs has cost them the game.

Chasing a good total, Sunil Narine once again went berserk with the bat scoring 29 runs off just 10 deliveries with 4 fours and 3 sixes. With superb hitting from Lynn (55) and Uthappa (45), KKR came close to the victory. Dinesh Karthik (26*) remained unbeaten till the end to hand them a 5-wicket victory.

With this victory, Dinesh Karthik-led Kolkata Knight Riders have become the third team to make it to the playoffs after the Sun Risers Hyderabad and Chennai Super Kings. The Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians are now fighting for the only remaining playoff berth!

Match Summary:

Kolkata Knight Riders – 173/5 in 19.4 overs (Chris Lynn – 55, Robin Uthappa – 45, Carlos Brathwaite – 2/21, Siddarth Kaul – 2/26) beat Sun Risers Hyderabad – 172/9 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan – 50, Kane Williamson – 36, Prasidh Krishna – 4/30, Sunil Narine – 1/23) by 5 wickets

Player of the Match:

Chris Lynn (KKR) – 55 runs

Orange Cap:

Kane Williamson (SRH) – 661 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 wickets


Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Carlos Brathwaite, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

Bench: Wriddhiman Saha, Mohammad Nabi, Ricky Bhui, T Natarajan, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Basil Thampi, Alex Hales, Deepak Hooda

Kolkata Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Javon Searles, Piyush Chawla, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Yadav

Bench: Rinku Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Tom Curran, Vinay Kumar, Ishank Jaggi, Apoorv Wankhade, Cameron Delport, Shivam Mavi

** Photo credits to Scroll

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *