KKR beat CSK by six wickets at The Eden

IPL 2018, 33rd Match, Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings – Kolkata Knight Riders won by 6 wickets

Thursday, May 03, 2018, Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Match Wrap:

It was a day where Eden Gardens turned more yellow than Purple! But the result wasn’twhat most of the crowd expected as the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) comfortably defeated the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 6 wickets.

Home team KKR won the toss and put Chennai to bat first. CSK got to a respectable total – 177 for 5, with each of their batsman going for their shots. None got to their personal half-century though with Dhoni (43*) being their highest scorer.

First over in the chase belonged to both the teams with Lynn hitting 2 sixes and Ngidi picking up the Lynn’s wicket off the final delivery. Shubman Gill, who was promoted to no. 4, proved his worth with an unbeaten half-century with 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Kolkata captain Dinesh Karthik played a cameo in the end scoring 45 runs off just 18 deliveries which includes 7 fours and a six to help Knight Riders reach the target with 14 balls to spare. With this, KKR avenged their heart breaking defeat in Chennai earlier in the ongoing season.

With the result of this game, CSK (12 points) are down to second position with KKR (10 points) climbing to third position. Sun Risers (12 points) take the top spot with a better run rate over CSK.

Rayudu (CSK) scored 21 runs off 17 balls to take back Orange cap from Rishabh Pant (DD). With the kind of batting form in which Rayudu is in, it will be difficult for Murali Vijay to get a place in the team in the near future!

Match Summary:

Kolkata Knight Riders – 180/4 in 17.4 overs (Shubman Gill – 57*, Dinesh Karthik – 45*, Harbhajan Singh – 1/20, KM Asif – 1/32) beat Chennai Super Kings – 177/5 in 20 overs (Mahendra Singh Dhoni – 43, Shane Watson – 36, Sunil Narine – 2/20, Piyush Chawla – 2/35) by 6 wickets

Player of the Match:

Sunil Narine (KKR)

Orange Cap:

Ambati Rayudu (CSK) – 391 runs

Purple Cap:

Trent Boult (DD) – 13 wickets


Kolkata Knight Riders:

Playing XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Rinku Singh, Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Shivam Mavi, Piyush Chawla, Mitchell Johnson, Kuldeep Yadav

Bench: Tom Curran, Ishank Jaggi, Prasidh Krishna, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Nitish Rana

Chennai Super Kings:

Playing XI: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Lungi Ngidi, KM Asif

Bench: Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur, David Willey, Kanishk Seth, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, N Jagadeesan

** Photo credits to ESPN cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *