Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Preview


IPL 2018, 48th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Monday, May 14, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Preview:

After losing to KKR at home on Saturday (May 12), the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) are staying back to host the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Monday (May 14) in Indore. Play is scheduled to start at 08:00 pm IST.

KXIP are coming into this game with a defeat to KKR while RCB are coming into this game with a calculated win over Delhi Daredevils at Feroz Shah Kotla. This is a must win game for both the teams and a defeat for RCB means they are crashed out of the tournament. However, KXIP can still afford a defeat in the game but they do not want to complicate their play-off chances.

Currently, Kings XI Punjab are at the third position with 12 points and Royal Challengers Bangalore are at the seventh position with 8 points. Surprisingly, the result in this game won’t affect their positions in the points table. A win or a defeat these two teams will hold on to their places.

First Match result in the ongoing season:

Lokesh Rahul provided the start with his 30-ball 47 but with no support from others Kings XI Punjab crawled their way to 155 all out in 19.2 overs. South African duo, AB de Villiers and Quinton de Kock, helped RCB chase down the target comfortably with 4 wickets in hand which went down till the final Over.

Head to Head Record:

21 IPL games against each other in which Kings XI Punjab won 12 and RCB won 9 games. In their last 5 games against each other, KXIP won 2 games, while RCB won three games. RCB won the first game between these two franchises in the ongoing season.

Favorites to win:

Going by the ongoing trend of Wins and defeats of these two teams in the ongoing season, Royal Challengers Bangalore will lose this game!

Both teams are coming into this game in a must-win situation. Playing in their own home ground, Kings XI Punjab have the advantage in their favor to win the game.


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Quinton de Kock (wk), Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli (c), Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Murugan Ashwin, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *