Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals Preview


IPL 2018, 38th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals

Sunday, May 06, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Preview:

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will host the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the second game on Sunday in their home ground in Indore. Play starts at 08:00 pm IST. This is the first game between these two teams in this season, however, they will play their second game against each other in two days on Tuesday.

KXIP are coming into this game with a defeat against the Mumbai Indians, but for a team with Chris Gayle at the top, they can always think of making a comeback. He is in great touch scoring 3 half centuries and a century. Only Kane Williamson (SRH) and Shreyas Iyer (DD) are the others to score four fifty-plus scores in this season.

Jos Buttler is the player to watch out for in the Rajasthan Royals team, who is fresh from an 18-ball half-century against the Delhi Daredevils. Darcy Short also looked in great touch in their last game against DD. Both these players will look to replicate the same performance to produce a much needed win this time. England all-rounder Ben Stokes is yet to play to his complete ability.

After two losses in a row, hosts Kings XI Punjab might look to beat out-of-form RR to improve their confidence levels. Punjab’s batsmen need to step up to take them over the line in this game as their bowling looks better than Rajasthan. Overall, this is going to be a tough day for the Rajasthan bowlers.

Head to Head Record:

Out of the 15 games played against each other, Rajasthan Royals has won 9 games while Kings XI Punjab managed just 6 wins. In the last 5 games, KXIP won three games while RR won just two.

Favorites to win:

Both these two teams are equally strong on paper. However, planning and execution went bad for RR in this season which makes Punjab strong contenders to win the match.


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, D’Arcy Short, Shreyas Gopal, Ben Laughlin, Stuart Binny, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *