Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians Preview

kxip vs mi

IPL 2018, 34th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians

Friday, May 04, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Preview:

Batting heavy-weights Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) are getting ready to host the strongest-team-on-paper Mumbai Indians (MI) in Indore at the Holkar Indore Cricket Stadium on Friday (May 04). Play starts at 08:00 pm IST.

Both these teams are coming into this game losing their respective previous games. Kings XI Punjab failed to chase 133 against Sun Risers Hyderabad while Mumbai Indians lost to the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Kings XI Punjab are currently sitting at the third position with 5 wins in 7 games and Mumbai Indians are at the bottom with just 2 wins in their 8 games. A win for KXIP in this game might not alter their position in the Points table while Mumbai can move to 5th position if they manage to win this game.

Chris Gayle is certainly the player to watch out for in this game. He has scored just over 250 runs for his new franchise Kings XI Punjab in this season in just 4 games. Also, his 23 sixes are the joint most for any player in IPL 2018 at this point.

Mumbai have to regroup themselves to improve their chances of making it to the Qualifiers in the ongoing season of IPL. They have to win all their remaining 6 games to stand a chance to book a place in the top 4 at the end of the season.

Head to Head Record:

The battle between these two franchises is pretty even with both the teams winning 10 games apiece out of the 20 games played against each other. In the recent 5 games, Mumbai won 3 games with KXIP winning the other 2 games.

Favorites to win:

Looking at the performances in the ongoing season one would certainly bet their money on the in-form hosts Kings XI Punjab to win this game. However, Mumbai cannot be sidelined particularly in pressure games as one had already witnessed many comebacks in the past.


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Krunal Pandya, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *