Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders Preview

Kxip vs kkr

IPL 2018, 44th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Saturday, May 12, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Preview:

The Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) are all set to host the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in their adopted home ground in Indore in the first game on Saturday (May 12). Play starts at 04:00 pm IST. This is a must-win game for both the teams to boost their confidence as they are coming into this game with a defeat in their respective previous games.

Punjab’s Lokesh Rahul & Chris Gayle and Kolkata’s Dinesh Karthik & Sunil Narine are in tremendous form in the ongoing season and they are the players to watch out for in this game.

Kolkata, who recently lost their place in the top four, can make amends if they can manage a win in this game. To those who are comfortable with equations – A win for KKR in this game is directly proportional to putting pressure on Mumbai Indians while a loss for KKR is directly proportional to putting pressure on themselves (KKR).

First Match result in the ongoing season:

Kolkata were off to a great start at the Eden Gardens with Chris Lynn contributing 74 runs at the top of the order. A 28-ball 43 at the end from Dinesh Karthik helped Kolkata get to 191 in their 20 overs. In response, Rahul and Gayle scored half-centuries to help Punjab win the game by 9 wickets (DLS method).

Head to Head Record:

The  Kolkata Knight Riders enjoy a heathy lead over Kings XI Punjab winning 14 out of the 22 games played. In the last 5 games against each other, Punjab won ,2 while Kolkata won 3 games. However, Kings XI Punjab are coming into this game as favorites.

Favorites to win:

After losing their place in the top four in the points table, Kolkata are under tremendous pressure going into this game. Punjab with home ground advantage in their favor are likely to win the game.


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Shivam Mavi, Piyush Chawla, Mitchell Johnson, Kuldeep Yadav, Rinku Singh, Tom Curran, Ishank Jaggi, Prasidh Krishna, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *