Jason Roy Helps Delhi Get Off The Mark

IPL 2018, 9th Match, Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils – Delhi Daredevils won by 7 wickets

Saturday, April 14, 2018, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Match Wrap:

Mumbai are off to a blazing start with both their openers smashing every bowler in the power play overs. Clearly, 84 for no loss in the first 6 overs is no small effort. Mumbai’s opening partnership bulged to 102 before Rahul Tewatia trapped Evin Lewis LBW on 48. Suryakumar Yadav later got to his fifty who departed on 53.

Though Ishan Kishan (at no. 3) played a superb knock scoring a 23-ball 44 with 5 fours and 2 sixes, no other MI player supported him once the openers fell. Mumbai Indians in the end finished with just 194 losing 7 wickets in their 20 overs.

At one stage, MI were looking to score no less than a total of 220. A brilliant bowling performance from the Delhi unit helped them put checks on MI scoring in the death overs.

During the chase, it is all about Jason Roy’s unbeaten 91* which came off in just 53 deliveries with 6 fours and 6 sixes. Unfortunately, Mumbai’s most successful bowler in this season, Mayank Markande, was wicket less in this game. And their bowlers were able to pick just 3 wickets.

Mustafizur made everyone believed that there is going to be super over by bowling 3 dot balls on the trot when Delhi needed just 1 run to win from 4 balls. Jason Roy, though, held his nerve to take a single off the final delivery to hand Delhi Daredevils their first win in the tournament.

With 3 defeats in 3 games, Mumbai Indians are now placed at the bottom of the table and they are the only team to register to a win yet in the ongoing eleventh edition of Indian Premier League.

Match Summary:

Delhi Daredevils – 195/3 in 20 overs (Jason Roy – 91*, Rishabh Pant – 47, Krunal Pandya – 2/21) beat Mumbai Indians – 194/7 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav – 53, Evin Lewis – 48, Dan Christian – 2/35, Rahul Tewatia – 2/36) by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match:

Jason Roy (DD)

Orange Cap:

Suryakumar Yadav (MI) – 124 runs

Purple Cap:

Mayank Markande (MI) – 7 wickets


Mumbai Indians:

Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya

Bench: Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Jean-Paul Duminy, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh

Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI: Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir (c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult

Bench: Colin Munro, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett, Chris Morris

** Photo credits to NDTV Sports

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *