Invincible Kings XI Punjab Sink Delhi Daredevils

Invincible Kings XI Punjab sink Delhi Daredevils

IPL 2018, 22nd Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab

Monday, 23rd April, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Review :

The Kings XI Punjab thumped the hosts Delhi Daredevils with a last ball win and reached the top of points table.

The Delhi Daredevils won the toss and decided to field first. Chris Gayle got injured and had to sit out of this game. The Punjab batsmen never got going; every time there seemed to be a partnership building, they lost wickets. No Batsman except Karin Nair managed to score over 30. Aaron Finch & Yuvraj Singh’s  Bad run in this year’s IPL continued. They managed a moderate 143/8 in their 20 overs. Liam Plunkett(3-17) & Trent Boult(2-21) are pick of the bowlers of the Delhi Daredevils.

The Delhi Daredevils got off to a flier. The debutant Prithvi Shaw scored a 10 ball 22 and showed intent. Howeve,r after he got out, they looked in all kinds of trouble. Gambhir’s lean patch continued. Glenn Maxwell disappointed. Rishabh Pant got out early and Delhi always lagged behind in the chase. Shreyas Iyer played a valiant knock of 57 of 45 balls but that wasn’t enough to get his team over the line. They needed 16 in the Final over of Mujeeb ur Rahman but they managed to get only 11 runs and lost by 4 runs.

Ankit Rajput, Andrew The, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mujeeb ur Rahman all bowled well and gave their team 4th straight win in the tournament.

Match Summary :

Kings XI Punjab – 143/8 in 20 overs (Karun Nair 34, David Miller 26, Liam Plunkett 3-17)


Delhi Daredevils – 139/8 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 57,Rahul Tewatia 24, Ankit Rajpoot 2-23)

By 4 runs.

Player of the Match :

Ankit Rajpoot – Kings XI Punjab

Orange Cap :

Lokesh Rahul – Kings XI Punjab

Purple Cap :

Andrew Tye – Kings XI Punjab

Squads :

Delhi Daredevils :

Gautam Gambhir, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Harshal Patel

Kings XI Punjab :

Lokesh Rahul, Aaron Finch, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Ravichandran Ashwin, Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Axar Patel, Chris Gayle

Image Source : BCCI

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *