Determined Rahul Hands KXIP a Win Against RR

etermined Rahul hand KXIP a win against RR

IPL 2018, 38th Match, Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals – Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wickets

Sunday, May 06, 2018, Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Match Wrap:

Returning from a ban after 2 years, the Rajasthan Royals (RR) now entered into a danger zone with a defeat to the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the second game on Sunday (May 06). RR now have 6 points and they need to win all their remaining 5 games to get into the top 4 which seems very unlikely at the moment.

Put into bat first, Rajasthan are off a great start with Buttler scoring his second half-century in as many games. None of their remaining batsmen crossed 30-run mark due to which they were able to post just 152 for 9 in 20 overs in this short ground.

Chasing the target, Lokesh Rahul once again stood tall for Punjab in this season scoring an unbeaten 84* off just 54 deliveries with 7 fours and 3 sixes. This is his third fifty plus score in this season with this 84* being the highest score.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman (KXIP) was awarded the Player of the Match for picking up three wickets which dented Rajasthan’s run flow during the death overs. At one stage, he was also on a hat-trick when he picked up the wickets of Buttler and Archer off consecutive deliveries in the 15th over.

It was a tight contest between Lokesh Rahul and Mujeeb Ur Rahman for the award with both performing exceedingly well in their own departments. Rahul scored an unbeaten 84*, took a catch and affected a run out while Mujeeb picked three crucial wickets of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer!

Punjab are now at third position with 12 points, whereas Rajasthan are at the bottom with just 6 points.

Match Summary:

Kings XI Punjab – 155/4 in 18.4 overs (Lokesh Rahul – 84*, Karun Nair – 31, Krishnappa Gowtham – 1/18, Anureet Singh – 1/20) beat Rajasthan Royals – 152/9 in 20 overs (Jos Buttler – 51, Sanju Samson – 28, Mujeeb Ur Rahman – 3/27, Andrew Tye – 2/24) by 6 wickets

Player of the Match:

Mujeeb Ur Rahman (KXIP) – 3 wickets

Orange Cap:

Ambati Rayudu (CSK) – 423 runs

Purple Cap:

Hardik Pandya (MI) – 14 wickets


Kings XI Punjab:

Playing XI: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Axar Patel, Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Bench: Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar

Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Jos Buttler (wk), D Arcy Short, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Anureet Singh, Jaydev Unadkat

Bench: Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Ankit Sharma, Ish Sodhi, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen

** Photo credits to DNA India

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *