Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians Preview

DD vs MI

IPL 2018, 55th Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians

Sunday, May 20, 2018, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Preview:

The equation is pretty simple in this game. A win for Mumbai Indians in this game means they are through to playoffs eliminating both Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab from this season. However, a defeat for the defending champions implies Kings XI Punjab will fight with Rajasthan Royals for the only remaining playoff berth.

The Mumbai Indians are coming into this game with four wins in their previous five games, on the other hand, the Delhi Daredevils are coming into this game with just 2 wins in their previous five games.

The temperatures are expected to be high during this day – night affair and even a low score batting first can win them the game. Defending champions have lost their previous day game and this is not a pleasing stat from them going into this game.

What change will this bring to the Points table?

A win for Mumbai Indians will make sure they will book the only playoff berth available. A win for Delhi Daredevils implies Rajasthan has the chance to make it to the play offs, however, they have to wait for the result between Chennai and Punjab.

Head to Head record:

Delhi Daredevils has won 10 out of 21 IPL games played against Mumbai Indians. In the last five games, Mumbai Indians have won 3 games while Delhi won the other 2 games.

Favorites to win:

Going by the history in this tournament, Mumbai Indians have the high chance of winning this game to make it to the playoffs. However, hosts Delhi Daredevils are on a high beating Chennai Super Kings at the same venue in their previous game.


Delhi Daredevils: Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Jason Roy, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Harshal Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Junior Dala

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Krunal Pandya, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *