Delhi Daredevils vs Chennai Super Kings Preview


IPL 2018, 52nd Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Chennai Super Kings

Friday, May 18, 2018, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Preview:

The Delhi Daredevils (DD), who were already crashed out of the tournament, will host Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Friday (May 18) at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium. Play is scheduled to start at 08:00 pm IST.

17-year old Abhishek Sharma excelled with the bat scoring a 19-ball 46 in Delhi’s last game and Sandeep Lamichhane bowled economically while picking up a wicket. It is also expected that Delhi might give chances to their bench as they have already disqualified.

On the other hand, the Chennai Super Kings are expected to play with their full strength as a win in this game will grant them a top-two finish. Among the CSK players, Harbhajan has picked up most wickets against DD in this tournament, while Suresh Raina struggled against Delhi scoring just 492 runs in 21 innings.

What change will this bring to the points table?

A win for CSK in this game will assure them a top two finish in the points table before the start of playoffs. On the other hand, a win or a loss doesn’t matter for the hosts Delhi as they were already crashed out of the ongoing season.

Head to Head Record:

Delhi’s record against Chennai Super Kings is very poor with winning just 5 out of 17 games. CSK has won all the remaining games. In the last 5 games against each other, CSK won 4 games while DD managed just a win.

Favorites to win:

Chennai Super Kings are clearly favorites to win this game. Unless CSK experimented with their line-up, it would be tough for Delhi Daredevils to beat them.


Delhi Daredevils: Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Jason Roy, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Harshal Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Junior Dala

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Lungi Ngidi, KM Asif, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur, David Willey, Kanishk Seth, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, N Jagadeesan

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *