Delhi beat CSK by 34 runs at the Kotla

Delhi beat CSK by 34 runs at the Kotla

IPL 2018, 52nd Match, Delhi Daredevils vs Chennai Super Kings – Delhi Daredevils won by 34 runs

Friday, May 18, 2018, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Match Wrap:

Just when the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were eyeing a top two finish in the points table, the Delhi Daredevils have come good with an all-round display to beat them at the Feroz Shah Kotla! Though Delhi already crashed out of the tournament, this 34-run win will give them immense confidence as it came against one of the top sides in the tournament.

Put into bat first, Delhi were off to an awful start losing their opener Prithvi Shaw early. And just when everyone anticipated another defeat for Delhi, the unbeaten duo – Harshal Patel and Vijay Shankar, have added 65 runs in the final 5.2 overs to take Delhi to 162 for 5 in 20 overs. Coincidentally, both the batsmen remained unbeaten on 36*.

Chasing a par total, the Chennai Super Kings finished with just 128 for 6 in 20 overs to concede a 34-run victory to the hosts. Ambati Rayudu once again excelled with the bat scoring a 29-ball 50 but none of the other batsmen have excelled to take CSK over the line.

In the last 8 games, CSK are having a ‘win followed by a loss’ trend and they want to break it before going to the playoffs! Though they lost this game, they are almost certain to finish in the top two unless they lost their next game by a big margin to Kings XI Punjab on Sunday.

Match Summary:

Delhi Daredevils – 162/5 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant – 38, Harshal Patel – 36*, Vijay Shankar – 36*, Lungi Ngidi – 2/14, Ravindra Jadeja – 1/19) beat Chennai Super Kings – 128/6 in 20 overs (Ambati Rayudu – 50, Ravindra Jadeja – 27, Trent Boult – 2/20, Amit Mishra – 2/20) by 34 runs

Player of the Match:

Harshal Patel (DD) – Unbeaten 36* runs and a wicket

Orange Cap:

Lokesh Rahul (KXIP) – 652 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 wickets


Delhi Daredevils:

Playing XI: Amit Mishra, Glenn Maxwell, Trent Boult, Harshal Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shreyas Iyer (c), Avesh Khan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sandeep Lamichhane, Abhishek Sharma, Prithvi Shaw

Bench: Gautam Gambhir, Liam Plunkett, Naman Ojha, Daniel Christian, Jason Roy, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Colin Munro, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rahul Tewatia, Junior Dala, Sayan Ghosh, Manjot Kalra

Chennai Super Kings:

Playing XI: Harbhajan Singh, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, Sam Billings, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi

Bench: Murali Vijay, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis, Dhruv Shorey, Monu Kumar, Kshitiz Sharma, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Kanishk Seth, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif

** Photo credits to Wah Cricket

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *