Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab Preview


IPL 2018, 56th Match, Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab

Sunday, May 20, 2018, Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

Match Preview:

After losing to the Delhi Daredevils at the Kotla, the Chennai Super Kings are now getting ready to host Kings XI Punjab in the last game of the league stage. This is a night game played in Chennai’s adopted home Pune, with play scheduled to start at 08:00 pm IST.

Kings XI Punjab journey in this eleventh edition of IPL has been a tale of two halves. In the first seven games, they have won five games while losing just 2 games and in the next six games they have managed to win just a game only to complicate their playoff qualification chances.

On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings are coming into this game with a defeat to the Delhi Daredevils on Friday. They would like to win this game against Punjab to gain some confidence going into the playoffs which starts from Tuesday (May 22).

What change will this bring to the Points table?

A win for Mumbai Indians against Delhi Daredevils at the Kotla in the first game on Sunday makes this match a dead rubber. While a defeat for Mumbai Indians will make this match interesting as Kings XI Punjab will have to fight with Rajasthan Royals for the only remaining playoff berth.

Head to Head Record:

Chennai Super Kings have won 10 games whereas Kings XI Punjab has won the remaining 8 out of the 18 games. In the last five games, CSK has won 3 games while KXIP won the remaining two games.

Favorites to win:

Kings XI Punjab are moving out of their home ground, who are in do or die situation and this gives advantage for Chennai Super Kings to make a comeback.


Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Lungi Ngidi, KM Asif, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur, David Willey, Kanishk Seth, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, N Jagadeesan

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin (c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Mohit Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *