Buttler special worsen Mumbai’s tournament

Buttler special worsen Mumbai's tournament

IPL 2018, 47th Match, Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals – Rajasthan Royals won by 7 wickets

Sunday, May 13, 2018, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Match Wrap:

Fifth consecutive IPL fifty for Jos Buttler helped Rajasthan Royals (RR) thump the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Wankhede to climb up to the fifth position. Only Virender Sehwag has scored five consecutive IPL fifties before. Third consecutive win for Royals means they are now at the fifth position of the points table with 12 points.

Put into bat first, Suryakumar Yadav and Evin Lewis provided the start MI needed but a middle order fumble has costed them the match. In their own home ground, they were able to get to just 168 for 6 in 20 overs. With a below-par total on the board, there was no real pressure on Rajasthan during the chase.

In a dramatic move, the Rajasthan Royals captain Ajinkya Rahane fined INR 12 Lakh for maintaining a slow over-rate against Mumbai in this game. This is first such offense for RR this season while RCB captain Virat Kohli fined same amount for maintaining a slow over rate against CSK.

With five consecutive fifties, Jos Buttler is climbing up the ladder of the leading run scorers list in this season. He is currently the fifth leading run scorer in the ongoing eleventh edition with 509 runs in 12 games.

Match Summary:

Rajasthan Royals – 171/3 in 18 overs (Jos Buttler – 94*, Ajinkya Rahane – 37, Hardik Pandya – 2/52, Jasprit Bumrah – 1/34) beat Mumbai Indians – 168/6 in 20 overs (Evin Lewis – 60, Suryakumar Yadav – 38, Jofra Archer – 2/16, Ben Stokes – 2/26) by 7 wickets

Player of the Match:

Jos Buttler (RR) – Unbeaten 94* runs

Orange Cap:

Rishabh Pant (DD) – 582 runs

Purple Cap:

Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 20 wickets


Mumbai Indians:

Playing XI: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ben Cutting, Krunal Pandya, Jean-Paul Duminy, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench: Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Adam Milne

Rajasthan Royals:

Playing XI: Jos Buttler (wk), D’Arcy Short, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Bench: Rahul Tripathi, Anureet Singh, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen, Ish Sodhi, Ankit Sharma, Prashant Chopra

** Image credits to Hindustan Times

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *