Bhuvi’s final over heroics put SRH in the play-offs

Bhuvi's final over heroics put SRH in the play-offs

IPL 2018, 39th Match, Sun Risers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Sun Risers Hyderabad won by 5 runs

Monday, May 07, 2018, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Match Wrap:

Six balls remaining! 12 runs to win! Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) has the ball in his hand. Colin de Grandhomme and Mandeep Singh are in the middle with the former taking the strike. What happened in those six deliveries has changed the fate of both these teams. Bhuvi bowled brilliantly conceding just five singles off the first five deliveries before picking up the wicket of Grandhomme on the final delivery.

Sun Risers won by 5 runs registering their eighth win in 10 games in the ongoing season. With 16 points in their pocket, SRH qualified for the play-offs, while RCB are on the verge of exit having won just 3 out of their 10 games so far.

Sun Risers are sitting prettily at the top with 8 wins in 10 games and looking at their current form it would be surprising if they did not end up in the first two positions in the points table at the end of this league stage. Meanwhile, RCB need a miracle to happen to help them qualify for the play-offs.

Kane Williamson (SRH) registered his fifth fifty-plus score – 56 off 39 with 5 four and 2 sixes, most such scores for any player in the ongoing season at this moment. Also, he became the second player to get past 400-mark in this season with 410 runs in 10 games against his name.

Match Summary:

Sun Risers Hyderabad – 146 in 20 overs (Kane Williamson – 56, Shakib al Hasan – 35, Mohammad Siraj – 3/25, Tim Southee – 3/30) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore – 141/6 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli – 39, Colin de Grandhomme – 33, Shakib al Hasan – 2/36, Sandeep Sharma – 1/20) by 5 runs

Player of the Match:

Kane Williamson (SRH) – 56 runs

Orange Cap:

Ambati Rayudu (CSK) – 423 runs

Purple Cap:

Umesh Yadav (RCB) – 14 wickets


Sun Risers Hyderabad:

Playing XI: Alex Hales, Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

Bench: Carlos Brathwaite, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, T Natarajan, Mohammad Nabi, Basil Thampi, K Khaleel Ahmed, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Tanmay Agarwal, Shreevats Goswami, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Playing XI: Parthiv Patel (wk), Manan Vohra, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bench: Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Quinton de Kock, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Brendon McCullum, Murugan Ashwin

** Image credits to DNA India

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *