All time IPL records made in IPL 2018

All time IPL records made in IPL 2018

“Records are meant to be broken” – The famous phrase which we get to listen almost from every cricketer! Let us look at some of the all-time IPL records that are made/broken in the recently concluded eleventh edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2018).

Rishabh Pant – 128* off 63 deliveries

Wicket-keeper batsman of Delhi Daredevils, Rishabh Pant, has scored an unbeaten 128* including 15 fours and 7 sixes against Sun Risers Hyderabad at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. This is the highest score in an innings by an Indian player in IPL breaking Murali Vijay’s record.

Murali Vijay scored 127 off 56 deliveries in 2010 against Rajasthan Royals at Chinnaswamy stadium. Rishabh’s 128* is the fifth best score for any player in the IPL.

Shane Watson – 117* off 57 deliveries

Shane Watson scored an unbeaten 117* off 57 deliveries with 11 fours and 8 sixes in the IPL 2018 final match against Sun Risers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This brilliant knock has helped CSK win the title beating SRH by 8 wickets.

Watson’s 117* is the highest score made by any player in an IPL final match. Wriddhiman Saha playing for Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) scored an unbeaten 115* off 55 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2014 final. However, KXIP lost the match by 3 wickets.

Chennai Super Kings – 145 sixes

Chennai Super Kings have hit a mammoth 145 sixes in the whole IPL 2018 season. Contributions have come mostly from Shane Watson (35 sixes), Ambati Rayudu (34 sixes) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (30 sixes). Chennai’s 145 sixes in IPL 2018 are the most for any team in a single season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016 have hit 142 sixes in the whole tournament which is the previous best! Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers scored 38 and 37 sixes respectively in that season.

Three IPL titles in a row

Having played for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2018 season, Karn Sharma created a unique record for himself in the recently concluded eleventh edition. Chennai Super Kings defeated Sun Risers Hyderabad in the final to win their third IPL title.

With CSK winning the title in 2018, Karn Sharma has become the first player in the history of IPL to win three consecutive IPL titles. Karn played for Sun Risers Hyderabad in the year 2016 and for Mumbai Indians in the year 2017. Both these teams won the IPL championship in that respective year! This is some coincidence! Isn’t it?!

** Image credits to ESPN cricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *