Achievements of The Chennai Super Kings in IPL

Achievements of The Chennai Super Kings in IPL

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the eight teams played in the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008. They were loved by many with their performances on and off the field. There were sights where everyone witnessed the whole stadium turning yellow when the CSK was playing on the Away grounds.

CSK, in just 8 seasons, has achieved many more records than the other teams who played in all the ten seasons. Let’s look at some of them:


Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title twice in the first 8 seasons – in 2010 & 2011, both under the leadership of Dhoni. They are the first team to win the IPL title twice. CSK till date remains to be the only team to win the titles in two consecutive years.

CSK made the double of winning IPL and now defunct Champions League T20 (CLT20) in the year 2010. They were once a force with their line up filled with International stars. CSK made it to the IPL Final in 6 seasons, and this is the most for any team.

Fair Play Awards:

As per the IPL terms and conditions a Fair Play award will be given by the umpires “over the course of the league and playoff matches during the season based on ‘upholding spirit of the game during the match’, ‘showing respect to the opposition’, ‘showing respect for the laws of the game’ and ‘showing respect to the Umpires’.”

Having played in just 8 seasons so far, CSK is the recipient of six fair play awards. They have won it in the years 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015. And they will want to continue this in the seasons to come. No other team has won this award more than once!

Kings XI Punjab (2009), Rajasthan Royals (2012), Sun Risers Hyderabad (2016) and Gujarat Lions (2017) are the winners of this award in the rest of the four seasons.

Individual Records:

In addition to the above mentioned team records, there are many more team and individual records for CSK. Here are some of them:

  • CSK has the highest win percentage in IPL – 60.68 %. Mumbai Indians (58.28 %) are the second in this list
  • Suresh Raina is the current leading run scorer in IPL with 4540 runs to his name. He has played in all matches of CSK
  • Suresh Raina has played 161 matches in IPL, most for any player. He also took 86 catches as fielder, most for any player
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni has played 153 matches as Captain in IPL, most for any player

*Photo credits to Sify

The following two tabs change content below.


Devotee of Sachin. Fan of Cricket. Following the game since 2003 World Cup

Latest posts by Varma (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *